We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Five for the pie!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red Oak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Coach Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Red Oak
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I came here for dinner two years ago and had a very mediocre chicken salad. I was pretty disappointed. Then I heard the waitress say that they had a freshly made coconut cream pie. Who could resist that? I had the very best ( and biggest) slice of coconut cream pie I have ever had. I have been back twice since then and have never been disappointed. Definitely worth a stop if travelling through Red Oak on Hwy 34.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank 730jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

I have to agree with you, the desserts are awesome! Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 52 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is one of the nicest places we have stayed at in a small town. The room was very large and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the furnishings very nice. The continental breakfast was very good, everything was fresh. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the restaurant or visit the lounge so I can not comment on those aspects. We liked so well we booked again before we left. If staying in Red Oak this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

So glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again. We enjoy taking care of our guest and love to hear from you. Thank you for staying at the Red Coach Inn,.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Thanks to Marge and her crew at the hotel for a great time this week-end Four couples of us took advantage of their offer of an overnight with a show at the Wilson Performing Arts Center at a very attractive price. It was my birthday week-end and they treated us royally. Anny at the front desk is their best salesman on site. Marge and Jodie and Kara certainly know how to make the stay special, too. The roses were a very special touch. Thanks to all of you! The rooms were clean, very comfortable and quiet. Jodie advised some other things to do in town as well and we enjoyed the Firehouse. The Rainbow Cafe was great for Sunday morning breakfast, too! Take advantage of this hotel - you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Am so glad that you had a great time on your birthday weekend. We have fun helping our guests have fun! Hope that you will come back and again take advantage of our Stay and Play packages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Was sent to stay here by a Family Member during a Visit to Red Oak. Was very pleased with all aspects of our stay. Staff was very helpful. Rooms were very clean. Yes, we did check out the Bar later in the Evening. Bartender noticed we were not from the area and proceeded to make us feel at home telling about the Town and People. Never had a chance to try the Restaurant but it sure smelled good!!! Will absolutely stay here again next time were in to visit family....

Room Tip: No Smoking in building but, in back by Bar is a patio with Chairs and Tables to have a puff..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and being able to check out the lounge. Hope that the next time you are able to eat at the restaurant and to enjoy the great food. We are very happy to see that you were pleased with our facilities. We take pride in making the Red Coach Inn & Restaurant an enjoyable experience on your travels. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I were part of a Classic Car tour. We stopped at Red Coach Inn to see what they had to offer. They were very helpful. Our group of 43 people stayed there for one night and I did not hear one complaint. The rooms were very nice and a decent price. They had an indoor pool and a workout station. Our group enjoyed the continental breakfast the next morning. The restaurant was closed for Sunday morning so they let us use it for a worship service. We really enjoyed the motel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogaards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

We were very pleased to be able to host your group. They are a wonderful bunch of people. I, myself really enjoyed visiting with many in your group. We hope that your tour will make its way back here and will be able to stay again in the future. Thanks, Marge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We ate at the Red Coach Inn restrauant. Service is friendly and meals are priced fair for a nice dinner. Kids meals are big portions and very reasonably priced. Food is very good. Atmosphere is beautiful, but they need to play some nice music. Specials are listed walking in and very clean restrauant.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lve2hke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments very much and will take the music suggestion under consideration. Please come back and dine with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Red Coach and were less than impressed upon leaving. When we checked in the hotel appeared very clean. The desk clerk was very friendly and informative. When we got to our room and settled in for the evening there were several large looking bugs all over our room. After speaking to several others in our group, this seemed to be an issue in rooms on both the main level, as well as those on the third floor. I did contact the front desk and the manager came down, she picked up the bugs laying around and stated she didn't know what to tell us, the bug man comes once a month and these bugs come in through the air conditioners. Later that evening upon walking to our room from the bar located in the hotel we found friends of ours in our room. As a joke they thought it would be funny to try to get a room key, mind you we are two single females with only one name on the room. The male subject told the front desk clerk he was my friends husband, whose name was not on the room, and they gave him a key to our room. Although there were things we did like about the hotel, mainly the bar and reception area, we will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedOakRedCoach, Front Office Manager at Red Coach Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We apologize for the bugs that were in your room. They are out this time of year and do come in through the air conditioner and other than being annoying they are not harmful. We do have an exterminator that comes monthly and treats every room.
Your other issue is being addressed and measures are being taken so this will not happen again.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Coach Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Coach Inn & Restaurant

Address: 1200 Senate Ave, Red Oak, IA 51566-1208
Location: United States > Iowa > Red Oak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Red Oak
Price Range: $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled hotel with 53 Rooms, 1 Suite, Free Continental Breakfast, Fitness Center, Business Center, Heated Indoor Pool and Hot Tub, Wireless Internet throughout facility, Indoor corridors, outdoor electrical outlets. Bus/Truck/RV parking. Restaurant & Lounge, Banquet rooms for meetings, conferences, weddings or other special events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Coach Inn & Restaurant Red Oak, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing