We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Devilishly good attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blarcreen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blarcreen House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ardchattan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Devilishly good attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Here's a place where they know how to pamper you. It would be easy to get bored with going back to the same place time and again if the place wasn't as good as Blarcreen House. The attention to detail is superb. Sian and Garry remember what their guests prefer from previous visits and ensure that it's available when you come again. How about remembering that you like lemon curd at breakfast and making a fresh batch on the day you arrive? All the preserves are home made and breakfast only has ingredients of the highest quality. When you walk through the door it's like visiting old friends. Sian and Garry had never run a guest house before taking over at Blarcreen but you would think they had been doing it for 30 years rather than three. Search all you like but we don't think you'll find anything better this close to Oban.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveller030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
101
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed in Blarcreen House in August 2013. The quality of the accommodation and the level of care by Sian and Garry were exceptional, and on departing I determined to write a review expressing our delight at our experience there. We could not have been made to feel more welcome. Breakfasts were excellent. A busy life overtook good intentions, but some months later here is my review to say this is a quite special place with a special couple. It is quite far from Oban, but along a very picturesque road beside Loch Etive. My car broke down there and needed to be taken to a garage in Oban for a few days. Given the location this could have been a disaster, but Gary rescued us and insisted on driving us in and out of Oban for the next couple of days. We recommend this location to anyone who seeks peace, tranquillity or wonderful hospitality and does not mind the half hour drive to get to Oban itself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 577GuidoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

A brilliant place to stay with wonderful hosts. While the property is on a narrow road some miles from Oban and Connell, the seclusion and the peacefulness make the stay worthwhile. With the sounds of the burn in the background and the beautiful views over the loch, this property is stunning. Cannot rate this place highly enough; simply superb

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We visited Blarcreen house recently for a short stay. On arrival we were greeted with warm welcome and shown our room which was fantastic, had excellent views and heard nothing but nature.

Excellent breakfast with fresh bread and coffee, oban a short drive away with a range of sea food places. Fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Blarcreen House is a Victorian villa with 21st Century attributes - it's modern where it needs to be but traditional where that works better. It's so relaxing we can't resist it. We've been there for several visits a year since 2006. Never mind the old saying if it ain't broke don't fix it - if it can't be beat, don't bother to look elsewhere is what applies here. The beds are magnificent, the breakfasts the same, and the views are breathtaking. If you look it up and wonder whether the drive down Loch Etive is worth it then take my word for it that it is. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: I'm not telling you, in case you choose the one I want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveller030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Blarcreen is a clean, comfortable, beautiful house, set in breathtaking scenery. My recent stay was a wonderful relaxing break, it was lovely to wake to the smell of freshly baked bread and coffee. Sian and Garry are the perfect hosts. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEBORAH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just wanted to write about the fantastic stay at Blarcreen House. We stayed for 3 nights while visiting for a family wedding nearby. The hospitality was first class, as were the facilities, breakfasts and views ! We would recommend this B&B again and again. The setting is spectacular and we were lucky to have superb weather as well. What a bonus ! We will definitely be going back. Thank you to them both.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardchattan
9.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
4.7 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
16.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.7 mi away
Taynuilt Hotel
Taynuilt Hotel
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blarcreen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blarcreen House

Property: Blarcreen House
Address: Ardchattan | Oban, Argyll, Ardchattan PA37 1RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardchattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ardchattan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blarcreen House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blarcreen House is a Victorian granite farmhouse in beautiful, peaceful surroundings on the shore of Loch Etive, 12 miles from Oban. 5 star rating from the AA. Home cooking and Licensed with king size four poster rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blarcreen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing