We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nobody does it better”
Review of Blarcreen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blarcreen House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ardchattan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Have stayed at various places around Oban. Blarcreen House may be a shade more expensive but it brings a much better experience. The rooms are fantastic, the setting superb, and Garry the Kitchen could be on Masterchef with his breakfasts. He and Sian the Hostess are both new at Blarcreen but the experience is as good as it has ever been and we've stayed there loads of times. We like the room with four poster, dressing room, and luxury bathroom - but don't get in our way when we want it! All the rooms are high quality and the atmosphere very relaxing. You may be lucky and see otters or a sea eagle and much more!

Room Tip: Every room's a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytraveller030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 144 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed at Blarcreen House in November, arrived on a very wet evening. Sian met us outside with an umbrella.What a welcome! Sian and Garry are new to the busines, but wouldn't of known if they hadn't of told us. I am so glad we stayed there the two nights, it was everything we had wished for.
Good luck to Sian & Garry . You are doing a first class job.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My family stayed at Blarcreen during the last stages of a unforgettable holiday in Scotland. We had stayed at many high end B & B's across the country but this was the best by far. Sian and Garry are new to the business, but their warmth and generosity was very welcoming. The views, the food and the decor was first class, and it was immaculately clean... Due to the distance from town, it would be wonderful if they could serve an evening meal. But either way, we will be back on our next trip to the U.K. !!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Myself and my parents stayed on the nights of 15th & 16th September and received a very warm welcome with tea & cake after our long drive from Aviemore. It was my first visit to Scotland and the final leg of a week's touring. I'm so glad Blarcreen House was the last leg of the holiday as any other guest house or hotel would not have been up to the standard we experienced in Oban. Thankyou Sian and Garry for being perfect hosts, we will come again!
Richard

Room Tip: Wonderful views from rooms, very quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickgfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed here last week, the location is great if you like rural but only takes about 20 minutes to get to Oban to find somewhere to eat. Think they should possibly offer evening meals as they offer a wine list etc. Service, breakfast and room were all great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lornamwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My husband and I toured Scotland in June this year and stayed for two nights at Blarcreen House. We were made to feel very welcome there and enjoyed every part of our stay. The Victorian house had so much character and there was every mod con necessary for a comfortable stop.

Shelley and Steve were very friendly, accommodation great, food good and it was really relaxing to retreat there after two days' sight-seeing in the area. Slightly more expensive than other b & b's but worth it!

EVE 087

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVE087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

from the moment we arrived it was a very warm friendly place,steve & kelly are tremendous hosts and cannot do enough for you.the view from the house is terrific and the accomodation 1st class,the breakfast was also very tasty,lounge area is very relaxing after a days walking.steve and kelly gave us some local information as where to eat and walk-would advise people to walk the loch etive walk breathtaking scenery.
overall a brilliant stay would recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful relaxed stay

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albion61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blarcreen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blarcreen House

Address: Ardchattan | Oban, Argyll, Ardchattan PA37 1RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardchattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ardchattan
Price Range: $157 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blarcreen House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blarcreen House is a Victorian granite farmhouse in beautiful, peaceful surroundings on the shore of Loch Etive, 12 miles from Oban. 5 star rating from the AA. Home cooking and Licensed with king size four poster rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Blarcreen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing