We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blarcreen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blarcreen House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ardchattan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

Booked all 4 (there are 4 not 3) rooms at Blarcreen for 2 nights as part of a tour of Scotland and Wales. The hospitality was wonderful. Steve and Shelly are excellent hosts. Everything from the decor to the food was perfect. The views from our rooms and from the patio were wonderfull even with some raindrops. We all would highly recomend Blarcreen House as an excellent base in the area. Steve and Shelly are perfectly suited to the life they have chosen and really make a visit something special.

  • Liked — Hospitality, decor, food
  • Disliked — Nothing...it was perfect
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
101
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2007

Found this gem of a place by googling luxury bed and breakfasts in the Oban area and was not disappointed.
Very warm welcome from Shelley and Steve. The room was comparable to that of a good 4 star hotel with lots of nice little touches. Very clean.
Breakfast could not be faulted.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the owners, the room, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandTravel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2006

We stayed with Steve & Shelley for a week and didn't want to leave, the Bed & Breakfast was fantasic, comfortable homely with beautiful furnishings.Their local of Oban was a real advantage as we enjoy cycling and walking. Perfect for relaxation and as a base for Oban and its surroundings.

  • Liked — Comfort & quality of surroundings,location by Mountains & water& friendliness of Steve & Shelley
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mintons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2006

The Blarcreen House just outside of Oban is elegant and beautiful at the same time. The owners are fabulously friendly and informative. This has to be the best accommodations we've experienced in Scotland. Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2004
Helpful?
4 Thank chantal9677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2005

The Blarcreen House outside of Oban was one our most enjoyable stays in Scotland. We just returned and wanted to let anyone who is thinking about a trip to Scotland to plan your trip so you can stay with Steve and Shelley in their beautiful Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in June of 2000 and this time when we were planning a return visit to Scotland the Blarcreen House was once again included in our plans. We knew it would be wonderful, but we were delighted to find it even more beautiful! The lovely furnishings and comfort level surpassed our last visit. We didn't want to leave.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardchattan
9.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
16.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
2.7 mi away
Taynuilt Hotel
Taynuilt Hotel
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
7.3 mi away
Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blarcreen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blarcreen House

Property: Blarcreen House
Address: Ardchattan | Oban, Argyll, Ardchattan PA37 1RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardchattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ardchattan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blarcreen House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blarcreen House is a Victorian granite farmhouse in beautiful, peaceful surroundings on the shore of Loch Etive, 12 miles from Oban. 5 star rating from the AA. Home cooking and Licensed with king size four poster rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Blarcreen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing