We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Island Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ticao Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ticao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in one of the beach front bungalows. The bungalows were cleaned every day and we found them very comfortable. The staff were always keen to help. The meals were of a buffet style, with a variety of different main meals and soup each night. We went diving with Jesse our dive guide, he took us to San Miguel Island and Manta Bowl, where were fortunate enough to see 5 whale sharks, which was very exciting. We did a firefly tour up into the mangroves with some local villagers in their little outrigger canoes, which the resort organised for us. If you a looking for a nice peaceful place to stay, and to do a bit of diving, and maybe see some whale sharks, we would recommend Ticao Island Resort.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank botters18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 85 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

Enjoyed this off the beaten track hotel. After a 3-hour wet boat ride from Donsol the quaint beachfront bungalows were a welcomed sight. The rooms were basic but very functional. Door could be left open during the day to allow steady breeze to flow through. Beds were comfortable and bathroom was spacious with on-demand hot water. Meals were served buffet style and were plentiful and tasty.

Unexpected, semi-fast, and free WiFi was also a big plus. The staff was very helpful and attentive. Our group of 10 was there to snorkel and the only downside was that the beach (water) in front of the hotel has a strong current during the tides. Not much to see off of the beach. We did arrange a boat trip to San Miguel Island (40 minute boat ride) and had decent snorkeling in a mostly protected bay. I would say for most people 3 to 4 days here would be plenty of time. The hotel is located between two small villages, one on either side and offer the visitor a chance to get a cultural experience if they are a bit adventurous. Also each morning there a few horses strolled down the beach at sunrise eating grass and rolling in the sand. Very scenic location. Only downside were the frequent power outages during the second night of our stay, which apparently are commonplace. Basically if you are looking for a place to get away from it all and you are ok with rustic but comfortable conditions then this is a place to consider.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 more open on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Albatross37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in one beach front bungalow in end of January 2012. Family with 2 kids below 10. The bungalow is big enough for a family and has what is needed. A perfect place for combining beach, diving and family holiday. Very friendly, flexible and helpful staff. The dive center run by Rico ,fundiveasia, was perfect for us. We stayed on full board (nothing else around this place) and it was quite diversified food with barbecue and a lots of fresh fish from local fisherman. A lot to do with the kinds like canoe, trip into the laguna behind, visit of the local school, firefly and fishing with the locals. We went 2 times one day diving excursions by boat. Nicely arranged friendly, professional and good dive spots. he visibility was not perfect though this time of the year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We went "out of season" (still hot though), and it was quiet, but the staff were kind and attentive. This is a lovely place to relax. Two neighbouring villages are interesting to visit, and the locals, like most filipinos, are delightful, and friendly. The local village children will probably find you and you'll be enchanted by them. Good for diving, pony trekking, and exploring too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NiggleScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in May. We came here specifically for the diving - to see the Manta Rays at Manta Bowl.
As the Philippines had just had a Typhoon we were concerned the diving would be affected and the long trip here would have been in vain. In fact a lot of people had cancelled their trip here becuase of the storms.
When we arrived we were one of two couples staying on the resort. The whole resort was ours! the resort is in a beautiful bay with stunning views. the resort (and whole island) had suffered a power cut when we arrived but we didn't let this bother us.
The rooms are large and comfortable and sit directly facing the ocean, just sitting on your own private verandah was so relaxing. Meals here are huge and very tasty, especially after a long day diving.

The diving was amazing. The dive centre is at the resort and the boat leaves straight off the beach, whenever you may choose to take a dive, the guys are there to go.
Despite fearing we wouldn't see much post typhoon we saw up to 15 Mantas over 2 days! The Manta rays were huge just swimming so close to these gentle creatures was something we will never forget.

What made our stay here so memorable was the people. The staff at the resort are fantastic. Leanna helped us with everything we needed and GL was a fantastic dive master to take us on our trips. We really enjoyed spending our time with you guys.

On our final night the staff took us to the village next to the resort for a night of Karaoke, we had a fantastic time with the people there. The welcoming smiles and open hospitality left a lasting impression on us both.
We left Ticao Island feeling, relaxed, humbled and grateful that we had the pleasure of staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank StuB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights at Ticao IsIand Resort with friends on a full board basis as part of a 9 day itinerary we arranged through Donsol Eco Tours (see separate review). The resort is reached by a 2 hour boat crossing from Donsol & we stayed in one of the 9 air-conditioned beachfront cabanas which are simple yet pleasant & well appointed.

The staff at Ticao are excellent, very welcoming & helpful - hi Vicky! Food was of a very high standard - breakfast cooked to order, plated lunch & buffet dinner usually comprising fish, meat, vegetarian & rice or noodles - the barbequed pork is to die for!

The bar is a bit limited on content - wine is reasonably priced, SMB & SM light beers are available & they also sell bottles of local rum or brandy by the quarter / half bottle.

We went mainly for the diving, which was well run at the time by Marco (seconded from the Philippine Siren liveaboard) & Jess - Ticao is well positioned for the renowned manta bowl dive site (a 20 minute boat ride rather than the 2 hours from Donsol) & also has some nice corals around Bobby's Wall at the North end of the island

Other activities include horse riding & massage, although after 3 days diving we relaxed in the hammocks for a couple of days before continuing our trip. Beach in front of the resort is nice, but late in the afternoon suffers a bit from tides from the nearby river & swimming becomes difficult as the currents pick up

Overall, our stay was about the right length & we would recommend this resort for some decent diving, food, staff & relaxation

Room Tip: Beachfront cabana - avoid the budget rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jason_and_Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

The bay at Tucdugan is idillic, well protected and postcard material. Upon arrival you get to experience the wonderful hospitality of the resort staff. Accommodation has been designed to fit in with the surroundings and is of a high level of comfort. All the meals were to die for... variety and presentation second to none. Loved the way all the staff tried to ensure every wish was fulfilled and nothing was too much... even volunteered to carry kilos of books to the local school 1.5 km away. Was very impressed with the involvement and support the resort has for the local community. Diving was sensational. Very pretty trips to the dive sites and expert advice and guidance provided. I'll be back next February.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and none will disappoint .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ticao Island
31.7 mi away
Fernandos Hotel
Fernandos Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sorsogon
36 reviews
78.7 mi away
Tugawe Cove Resort
Tugawe Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Caramoan
248 reviews
23.7 mi away
Elysia Beach Resort
Elysia Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Donsol
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.6 mi away
Misibis Bay Resort
Misibis Bay Resort
#1 of 2 in Cagraray Island
790 reviews
451.6 mi away
Pannzian Beach
Pannzian Beach
#1 of 4 in Pagudpud
92 reviews
279.2 mi away
Treasure Island Resort
Treasure Island Resort
#5 of 19 in Olongapo
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ticao Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ticao Island Resort

Address: Tacdugan | San Jacinto, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Masbate Province > Ticao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ticao Island
Price Range: $15 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Ticao Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ticao Island Hotel Masbate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing