We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Though it's under a new name” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of 5 & Diner - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
5 & Diner
Cuisines: Diner, American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
175 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Though it's under a new name”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I so wanted to re-visit this diner while I was visiting again from out of town.
I went there between 11 a.m. and noon, during a week day...
I left, the parking lot was empty. It felt odd. Not homey.
So I had to look for someplace else to eat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank D w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Every Saturday Morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I go to the 5 and Diner every Saturday morning and have for years. The food is good, the prices are right, the service is great and the staff is nothing short of fantastic. The Diner has a new owner (formerly the manager) and a new name, Pleasant Hill Diner. Same great service and same dynamite staff, many of whom we consider friends. We have no doubt the food will move into the category of very good in the near future. We look forward to many more years of food, fun, and friends on Saturday mornings.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SSKD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DES MOINES
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have breakfast on a fairly regular basis. The food is good and the service is wonderful. They make it very comfortable to have a quick morning meeting and have breakfast from time to time. The biscuits and gravy meal is awesome.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank farns1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“tasty, warm, and very clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stopped here on our way home from Missouri. The staff was very courteous, the food was good, and the coffee was much needed. I would recommend for a family on the road.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisakatherine65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pretty good - kinda pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here for a lunch of milkshakes. Service was a lot slower than it should've been. The bill was about $15 for only three milkshakes - kind of steep. The interior is almost identical to another Midwest chain that has pictures of celebrities from the 50s and 60s, plus jukeboxes and oldies music.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GetMeOuttaThisTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5 & Diner also viewed

Pleasant Hill, IA
Pleasant Hill, IA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing