We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveler rating
321
53
11
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
321
53
11
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bowling alley different theme raccoon river themed rooms two lane small town historic hotel steam room bike trail sculpture garden spa tub original art destination hotel high trestle trail unique decor marching band new ownership
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this beautiful historic hotel for three days. The rooms are all very uniquely decorated. We had a suite and it was very spacious including the bathroom. Nice view from the windows overlooking the sculptures. It was very quiet, we never heard any noise. There was always a delicious plate of cookies out in the hallway when we came in at night. The location is perfect - we were able to walk everywhere we needed to go including the Scottish Fox, a lovely shop right out the back door! Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Thank Ricos80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronLenz, General Manager at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind remarks of our wonderful establishment. We can't wait to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Our dining experience was a disappointing thinking we would be offered a tasty meat or lean pork. Our food was so over cooked and dry during dinner hour we pushed it aside. There is a great opportunity to showcase Iowa food in a beautiful historical hotel. Then to have some of the worst food I have had in a small town Iowa. We expected much more.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Thank Marcy and Memo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronLenz, General Manager at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Our apologies for your less than excellent experience in our restaurant. We always strive for the highest quality of product and excellent service in our operation. We hope that you will come back to give us another try and see why we have a 5 star rating with our reviewers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

The Hotel from the moment you walk in the door has an extremely inviting and wonderful atmosphere. I traveled with several friends on this trip, but I will be returning with my family very soon. Restaurant, bowling alley, themed rooms and we just missed the opening of the ice cream shop, Frio.

Would highly recommend this Hotel for a business or family trip.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twilliams32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market505, Director of Sales at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Thank you for your great comments and 5 Star TripAdvisor Review. We are just excited about opening Frio and having you and your family join us for ice cream treats.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

We stayed one night in late July, 2019. The public spaces including the dining room (good food) were way too air-conditioned; our room thermostat was indecipherable. It is a splendid destination property located right next door to a wonderfully designed pocket park, but we would not go back in the summer.

Room Tip: Every room is different
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust-train
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market505, Director of Sales at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Thank you for spending a night with us at the Hotel Pattee and your comments. We are working on several improvement projects at the hotel which will improve our monitoring of the temperature throughout. Your 4 Star TripAdvisor Review is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

Stopped overnight on Racoon River Trail Ride. Greeted by cheerful desk staff. Invited to store bike inside—super convenient! Wonderful bike shop next door adjusted noisy derailleur. My room 201 was a delight. Clean, quiet and comfortable. The decor in the “kids suite” was so cheerful. I look forward to riding the 90 mile loop trail again and will definitely stay at Hotel Pattee again.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled solo
1  Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market505, Director of Sales at Hotel Pattee, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Pattee and enjoying the Raccoon River Trail biking experience. Your 5 Star Trip Advisor Review is so appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews