We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pattee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pattee
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perry
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“Fabulous Hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Don't let small town Perry fool you! When you walk through the doors of the hotel you are in a different world! It is so nice! Each room is decorated to a different theme and the common areas of the hotel are so nice. It is extremely clean, and attention to details is great!! Look for the chocolate chip cookies still warm from the oven that appear in the table in the hallway around 9 p.m.!! We ate both dinner and breakfast there and the food was wonderful!!! You will know who Jay, the owner, is ... he is everywhere making sure your stay is the best. From pouring coffee to cleaning off your table he makes your comfort the most important thing! There is a dry sauna and a steam room and hot tub in the lower level that are wonderful and also very clean and decorated perfectly. It is not expensive and worth the trip to Perry!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi Carol,
You are more than kind! It was so great to meet you and thank you for your detailed review. We truly feel that the Hotel is a quick get away from DesMoines. Thanks for sharing. Please come see again soon!
Take Care,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    38
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
130
4
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We traveled to Perry from Urbandale. LOVED the hotel. We stayed in the Louis Armstrong room. What fun! We throughly enjoyed the original art around the hotel. (Make sure to flip through the book in your room about the art of the hotel). The staff treated us very well. Fresh cookies, great restaurant, free-unlimited bowling, wonderful music and meal on Saturday night. If you are from central Iowa like us, you really must give this fully restored hotel a try.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JMK8515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us! The Louis Armstrong Suite is a guest favorite. The great thing too is that you didn't have to travel far to get away and get disconnected from the City. We are close enough to Urbandale/DesMoines that it only takes 35 minutes to get here, but the hotel is so beautiful that you feel like you are in a different Country! Take Care. Hope to see you again soon.
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Hotel Pattee is a must stay! There is no other place like this out there! It’s the most gorgeous hotel with the most unique rooms, making your stay unforgettable. My husband and I stayed there for our 2 year wedding anniversary and again for our third. We stayed in the Louis Armstrong Suite and the George and Agnes Soumas Suite, both absolutely gorgeous! The rooms and bathrooms are spotless and spacious and the beds are very comfortable. The staff is extremely helpful and kind and the owner Jay is the best – he is running a very well-run hotel, always making sure the guests are being taken care of. The restaurant, David’s Milwaukee Diner is amazing and it’s nice that it’s right in the hotel, no need to ever leave! The bowling alley there is great too, I highly suggest everyone to do that when you are there! Both times, my husband and I have walked around the hotel admiring all there is to see – the library, the architecture, the artwork, the whole beauty and history of it. My parents from Nebraska have even stayed there a couple times because they love the uniqueness! It’s a gorgeous hotel in a cute, Midwest town and I highly suggest EVERYONE come and stay…you will not be disappointed! Thanks Hotel Pattee for making our experience here again one we will never forget!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hi Sara,
Thanks for spending your anniversary with us and thanks for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We are more than proud to be the new owners of the Hotel and are really trying to make it a destination for a great getaway. We hope that you spend every anniversary with us! That would be awesome. Take care and thank you again.
Jay Hartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

If you want to be pampered, make a reservation at Hotel Pattee in Perry, Iowa. Jay and his staff will take excellent care of you and make your stay a memorable one. Very quaint with music in the lobby every Friday and Saturday, bowling in the basement, hot tub, spa, variety of rooms and fabulous food. The bicycle crowd will love it this summer. Don't miss this hotel.

Room Tip: Look at the web site and choose the room that suits your mood. Every room is different in size and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks Rosie! We are so glad that you made the trip up from Missouri. We are looking forward to hosting your wedding this June!!!! Congratulations again. Take Care and we will see you in a few months!
Thanks so much!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I surprised my wife by booking a overnight trip to the Hotel Pattee. Check-in time is 4:00PM, we arrived at 3:45 and our room wasn't ready yet. Courtney at the front desk offered to take our bags and invited us to have a drink in the lounge. A few minutes later, we were told our room was ready and away we went for a great time. I booked a package with the hotel that included a 1-hour massage for two, a bottle of champagne or wine, chocolate covered strawberries, breakfast the next morning, and a Premier King room.
We stayed in the "Dutch" room. It was stenciled and decorated in an old fashioned Dutch manner. The room was clean, bright, and fun to explore all the work the hotel put into the room.
Our scheduled massage was in the Copper Door Spa, located in the lower level of the hotel. Summer was our Massage Therapist. She did an outstanding job!
After our massages, we cleaned up in our spacious bathroom and headed to dinner at the David's Milwaukee Diner. The food prices were reasonable, the service good, and the food was hot and flavorful. After dinner, we enjoyed a bottle of wine near the fireplace in the lobby and listened to live music.
After retiring to our room, we found the bed comfortable and the room warm and quiet for a good nights sleep.
In the morning, we enjoyed a hot breakfast, again with good service and food.
We spent some time walking around the hotel, looking at the many historical pictures and stories of the Perry, Iowa area in the late 19th century. There is also a two lane bowling alley and a full steam room in the lower level as well. We didn't have time to check that out.
The amount of detail and workmanship that went into the hotel rooms as well as the common areas is worth the stay by itself. Combine that with the friendly staff, the good food, and the comfortable accomodations, the Hotel Pattee is surely worthy of a stay.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor is full of themed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesMoinesDudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
It was so nice to meet you both and I am so glad that you had a great romantic and relaxing time here with us! Thanks so much for the detailed review! We hope that you will help us spread the word about our hotel and that you will be back to visit us soon. Take care and thank you again! Jay Hartz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

A new experience every time you stay. Theme rooms and excellent food. Beautiful bar area.
Rooms where spotless and bathroom was very spacious. Awesome architecture every were you turn.
Could use a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
THANK YOU for a great review! We really appreciate it.
Take Care,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I really wanted to give this hotel a better rating because it is very unique and interesting. The room we stayed in was big and met all of our needs. The tv needed to be updated but that wasn't the reason for an average rating. The problem is that Perry is a small town and other than the hotel there is not really much choice of restaurants for a "nice" meal. So it is very important that the restaurant at the hotel be good. We ate there twice. Our lunch was not exceptional but it was good enough but when we went to dinner it was a disappointment. There were five of us and only one thought her dinner was good. My dinner was average at best but the price charged should have bought a good dinner. There are new owners now who seem to really want to make this hotel work so perhaps the restaurant will improve. If you are going just for the hotel rooms I think you will like it but if food is important I think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jahrlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayHartz, Owner at Hotel Pattee, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and equally important, thank you your candid feedback. I am more than happy that you enjoyed your hotel room, yet dissappointed that we let you down with regards to your dining experience. I take our entire business very serious, and that includes our dining room/kitchen. Our dining room is a place in which I personally spend a lot of time and ask questions of our customers. 98% of the time, I hear simply great things about our food and service. With that said, I am sorry that we let you down. If you would be so kind as to email me more specifics about which menu items you and your group didn't care for, I would love that feedback. We are certainly not perfect, but one thing is for sure: I want to make things right when we make mistakes. Thank you again. I can only hope that you and your friends will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves. Best Regards, Jay Hartz jay@hotelpattee.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perry
23.7 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
23.0 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
23.1 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
24.7 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
18.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pattee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pattee

Property: Hotel Pattee
Address: 1112 Willis Avenue, Perry, IA 50220
Location: United States > Iowa > Perry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pattee 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Pattee which is a 100 year old hotel that recently underwent a 12 Million Dollar renovation. Featuring over 40, individually themed rooms. Located directly on the Raccoon River Valley Trail and just 9 miles from the High Trestle Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pattee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pattee Perry, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing