We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
American Inn and Suites
Nearby Hotels
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Dubuque)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Dubuque(Dubuque)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
21
19
15
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
19
15
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdonutscomfort inncomplimentary breakfastcoffee makerfresh fruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 79 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here on 10/17 - 10/18. We previously stayed at this property a few years ago when it used to be an AmericInn. Noticed the hotel hasn't been as maintained as it previously had been. Our bathtub was very grungy and there were many spots in the room where the paint had come off and not repainted. The side entrance had 3 lounge chairs that were in disrepair (holes in the fabric) and looked tacky. It just gave the impression that the hotel wasn't as well maintained as it had been in the past.

However, that being said, the stay was comfortable. The beds looked very inviting and were very comfortable (bedding, mattresses, etc.). The size of the standard 2 Queen room was generous and our family of 4 were very comfortable there. The kids enjoyed the pool. The free breakfast was fine -- nice to have that as an offering. Wasn't as big of a selection as we've had at other free breakfast hotels (in particular, only 2 types of cereal and none that the kids liked) but we all found something we liked. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gailpet5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel on 10/5/2013 and the hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and the king bed was super comfy! There was a nice assortment of hot and cold foods at the breakfast but the biscuits were partly frozen and the concentrated orange juice needed to be diluted with water. But we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My first impression was "great lobby!". The two young guys working the counter were super friendly. Because we travel with our dogs, we noted on our online reservation we would like something convenient for taking them out. They actually read the notes and gave us a great room, on a lower level, right by the side door which leads to this great little courtyard. Perfect! The hotel was clean and quiet. The bed was WONDERFUL! Lots of pillows, pillow-top mattress, HUGE room! Breakfast was great the next morning! Perfect end to our weekend road trip. AND it was only about 10 minutes from The Field of Dreams, which was a great last minute stop before heading home. We've recommended this hotel to family that frequents Galena as a nice place to go and check out Field of Dreams too. We will visit again!

Room Tip: Our lower level room was right by parking and a great courtyard for the dogs. :-)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GasolineGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Inn P, Manager at American Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank You for staying with us. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Do not stay here under the current management. The manager with the last name Patel was incredibly rude to us and other guests. The two other employees trying to "help" us also had the last name Patel and were less than helpful.

They lost the Bride and Groom's booking for the honeymoon suite after their wedding. They refused to comp the room for the Bride and Groom, even though the wedding party booked 10+ rooms, which was supposed to result in a free room for the bride and groom. The bride and groom confirmed this, but they still were forced to deal with the manager and two other rude employees at the front desk for 20 minutes to get into their room.

We talked to other guests that couldn't stay because their credit card wouldn't work, due to a high level of activity on the card purchasing items for the wedding. One guest was allowed to stay, but they received a call from their bank stating that the hotel tried to run the card through 25 times in a row, so they thought it was a fraudulent charge.

One other guest was told he could not stay because the card was malfunctioning, but they called him the next day and told him that he had to pay for his room anyways.

Terrible customer service, do not support this hotel and their poor management. They had no interest in taking care of their customers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Innovanation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a 2 room suite. Checked in on Saturday August 3rd at around 6:30. Went to family function..got to hotel around 12:30am..the hot tub in room was very dusty around edge. The shower had soap scum in the tub. The grounds were not very well kept..grass needed to be cut and lots of weeds over growing there. I called about three times on Friday before someone actually answered the phone also.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msputsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews