We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel within easy walking distance of fun downtown shops”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Pella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Stayed here one night with a group of friends for a reunion gathering. The hotel is a beautiful brick building that fits in with the charming character of the town. Loved the location to walk downtown and browse the shops. Our room was spotlessly clean and the staff we had contact with were very friendly. We did not get the opportunity to dine there because of other plans we had already made. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee1657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 198 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2010

We have stayed here often and the level of satisfaction has not diminished. We just park the car (in their underground garage) and have a relaxing time walking and enjoying the city. Literally, everything is in walking distance. The hotel restaurant is a very good choice for a quite, romantic evening. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Susan & Dave
Lebanon, IN

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiltonites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Amsterdam Hotel in Pella, Ia. We have stayed at several hotels in the area to visit family and will deifinitely be making the Royal Amseterdam our choice to stay from now on. The staff and management were very helpful. The restaurant in the hotel (Monarch's) had great food and service. Try the lasagna and Dutch Salad! Plus you're right in the heart of Pella. We could literally walk everywhere we wanted to go. Plus the "canal" is right outside. The kiddos loved it and so did the adults. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinmomWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

I would highly recommend this hotel. The Hotel staff was extremely friendly on my arrival and answered all my questions about the town. The food at monarchs was outstanding. Kelly and her staff were quick and friendly. If your traveling on business the free wireless internet is great and I always appriciate a free breakfast! The rooms are clean and comfortable. Next time I'm in town i know where i'm staying. The Royal Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayberryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Pella has got to be the cleanest city in America! Amazing really. The hotel was charming but too dated for my taste. The beds were not comfortable and the furniture was the quality of a old Holiday Inn (dark purple carpets, etc.). But the staff were lovely and the area was so charming (even the fake canal out front). Everything in town is picture perfect but if you're looking for nightlife, no need to stay long. As a matter of fact, we cancelled our last night and travelled on. There is not much in Pella but what is there is lovely, Dutch, and clean, clean, clean.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank HotelSnobLittleRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

For many years, we have chosen to stay at this grand hotel. It has become and remains our favorite in all our worldly travels! The warm, professional, thorough, and efficient service provided to us has reinforced our decision to continue staying at this hotel. The food and service in the Monarch restaurant has been and is excellent and fairly priced...we love the Dutch salad! This location, in a clean and safe community, remains very inviting. The charm of our room and the hotel matches the city. We are looking forward to our next stay in August 2010, while attending the Iowa State Fair.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenSchrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Stayed here with family in April. The hotel was incredibly accomodating, very friendly and was located right on the canal in Pella. Couldn't ask for a more convenient location or a more beautiful hotel. Room was very large and comfortable. Best place in Pella!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelMoteberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pella
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pella
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Pella
1.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Pella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dutch Mill Inn
Dutch Mill Inn
#6 of 7 in Pella
18 reviews
14.7 mi away
EverSpring Inn & Suites
EverSpring Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Oskaloosa
54 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Amsterdam Hotel

Address: 705 East First Street, Pella, IA 50219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Pella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Pella
Price Range: $165 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Amsterdam Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Amsterdam Pella
Hotel Royal Amsterdam
Royal Amsterdam Hotel Pella, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing