We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG delicious”
Review of Jaarsma Bakery

Jaarsma Bakery
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Pella
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OMG delicious”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The window presentation is what drew us into this quaint bakery shop. The smell was beyond wonderful. We asked some women walking out, who also happened to not be from Pella, and they were told the "S" pastries were good, so that is what we got. They did not disappoint. A light pastry in the shape of a large S filled with a sweet almond mixture. They were wonderful and I must get more before I leave. We later toured the working windmill that grinds the grain of their whole grain bread. We went back and bought a loaf. We haven't tried it yet, but I have no doubt it will be delicious. The people are friendly. We are from Texas and our family all came to watch a grandson in the Jr. Olympics. We have all fallen in love with the beauty of the land, the beauty of the town and the kindness of the people.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    34
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We visit everytime we go back”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Jaarsma is the best bakery I have tried. I would recommend the Dutch Letters and coffee cakes. My Grandkids love the frosted cookies.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kemoon40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The BEST”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you are in Pella you MUST stop at Jaarsma Bakery. It has the best pastries I have ever tasted. Dutch Letters, Puff Pillows, Creme Horns, Bankets, Tarts just to name a few. Cupcakes are great too. We always stock up on the raisin buns bring home and freeze. They never last long in our house. We are out again and I am looking forward to when we can go back again. Every time we go to Pella our friends and family give us lists of items they want from Jaarsma. We normally have our backseat loaded with boxes of baked goods to fill those orders.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorMar53963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottumwa, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Special treat”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Absolutely the best bakery I have ever been to. Great selection, great prices as well as specials. Never disappointed with great bakery, great prices and great service. Can't go wrong, wonderful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Overwhelming number of choices”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Remember that Christmas-morning feeling of being overwhelmed by all the presents and the lights and tree and not knowing where to begin? That's the same feeling you'll get walking into this Dutch bakery for the first time. It's compounded by St. Nicholas cookies, even in summer. We tried several items and they were all delicious. Merry Christmas, even in June.

Helpful?
Thank bear7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jaarsma Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing