We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local cafe”
Review of Windmill Cafe

Windmill Cafe
Ranked #8 of 42 Restaurants in Pella
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Phone (641) 621-1800
Des Moines
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great local cafe”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

FYI: They only take local checks and cash. We have a late breakfast here whenever we find ourselves in Pella. The service is always great. We have always had good food. The cinnamon rolls are homemade and gigantic. We usually opt for an omelet and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SillyG2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    38
    19
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merriam, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It was OK”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had lunch and it was OK. Service was good, but next time we will try someplace else. I had a club sandwich and my guy had a Reuben. I don't think the quality of the meats were as they should have been.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hometowngirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wever, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome Place, Awesome Waitress and great food”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had breakfast and it was around 1115 am, wife had a taco salad. All was great, waitress was quick and professional and the food came quickly. It was a Sunday and not much else around Pella was open. They are only open till 2p and take cash only. ( which I do not mind) The cafe was decorated nicely also. Brunch buffet if you wanted it for $7.95 which is very reasonable. We will surely go back there when we are in the area again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank henshaw52658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must Have Cash”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Really glad we brought cash with us because they do not accept credit/debit. Food was really good and the service was friendly. Had the chicken salad on croissant and the french dip. Both were really good, although the fries were a little bland.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jennifernicole396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great For A Large Group”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We walked in with 8 people on Memorial Day and were seated immediately. For a large group we had excellent service. They were very accommodating on how to split the check. Prices are reasonable!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jc_planet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windmill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing