We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible on so many levels”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Days Inn Ottumwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Ottumwa
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ottumwa
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Horrible on so many levels”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here because of the positive reviews we saw on tripadvisor. Maybe we caught it during a bad time, but our stay here was horrible. When we tried to check in, no one was at the desk. There was a sign to call to get service. It took a while for someone to show up. While waiting, we had time to read the warning sign at the front desk stating someone had been calling rooms late at night trying to get credit card info and how the police had been informed and were trying to catch the perpetrator. When someone finally showed up to check us in, the lady was less than welcoming. We got to our room and it was freezing cold, and the fridge in the room was nice and warm. The heater worked well and the fridge cooled fast. The beds and pillows were comfortable, but the room wasn't as clean as it should have been. The phone was filthy. The next morning we went down to the complimentary breakfast and it was awful. No one was stocking it, so there was very little there even though we went down in the middle of the time it was there. There were a couple bagels, a couple english muffins, stale donut gems, no hot items, waffle iron, and 2 types of cereal. There was no cream cheese for the bagels. I made a waffle and had to throw it out because it had some tar-like substance all over it. After breakfast my husband had to go into a neighboring town and so my daughter an I were left at the hotel. We went down to the pool and it had piles of dirt on the bottom in the corners of the pool. The water was cool and the pool area was downright cold. The hot tub wasn't working the 2 days we were there. We almost didn't get our room cleaned because the cleaning lady leaves at noon and if you aren't out of your room by noon, you don't get your room cleaned. Service is a huge problem here. The lady who checked us in at 9 pm was there all the next morning until sometime after noon the next day, so I don't know how long she was working, but she obviously wasn't concerned about customer service. We were supposed to stay another night, but we decided to head for home early because it was such a bad experience.

Room Tip: Further away from the front desk and pool is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    22
    27
    17
    9
See reviews for
48
14
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This a great hotel for the money. It is a little out of the way, but well worth the drive. The rooms are very clean and the employees are wonderful. The minute you walk in the door you will be able to detect pride of ownership. This is the best Days Inn I have ever stayed at.... The best hotel in town I have stayed at!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huskerfanforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoyt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel was clean and the room was spacious. I stayed for two nights and will not hesitate to stay there again if the opportunity arises. Price was reasonabe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnottumwa, Manager at Days Inn Ottumwa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for giving us excellent review based on your recent stay @ Days Inn Ottumwa. We are always eager to provide the best services to all our guests & we always appreciate the business from all our valued guests. Hope to see you for your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storm Lake, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This motel is always very clean, with fantastic service and the people operating the motel are wonderful. This is always my first choice when staying in the Ottumwa area. They offer good television and fast trouble free internet service.

Room Tip: Have not had a bad room, pillows could be firmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnottumwa, Manager at Days Inn Ottumwa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for wonderful comments about your recent stay at our facility. We strive to provide excellent & comfortable stays. We always look forward to service guests like you. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKELAND
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

one of the best Hotels I have stayed in in a long time
The rooms are Clean the staff is very frendly & the bed was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank ARCHIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottumwa hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Ottumwa
Super 8 Ottumwa
#4 of 7 in Ottumwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Ottumwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Ottumwa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Ottumwa
Hotel Ottumwa
#5 of 7 in Ottumwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.9 mi away
AmericInn Ottumwa
AmericInn Ottumwa
#3 of 7 in Ottumwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ottumwa
Hampton Inn Ottumwa
#1 of 7 in Ottumwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Ottumwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Ottumwa

Property: Days Inn Ottumwa
Address: 2824 N Court St, Ottumwa, IA 52501-1163
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ottumwa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ottumwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Ottumwa 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Property, Featuring Free Continental Breakfast And Free Wi-FiIf you want warm hospitality and value, look no further than Days Inn Ottumwa. We are located near many area attractions and offer amenities that will brighten your stay at our Ottumwa, Iowa, hotel. Start your morning with free Daybreak continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Go for a swim in our indoor heated pool or prepare snacks for the day with your in-room microwave and refrigerator. Our hotel offers the best management and staff in the area and front desk is available 24 hours. Also free parking for your truck or RV, Handicapped-accessible rooms, as well as Jacuzzi, business, and family suites are available. Our Ottumwa, Iowa, hotel offers fax and copy services as well as a meeting space for your convenience. In case you are planning a birthday party or just plan on swimming we do offer pool parties and non guest can swim for $5/person. We can't wait to see you at Days Inn Ottumwa and know you will enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Ottumwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottumwa Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing