We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Price - Poor Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ottumwa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ottumwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel is overpriced for the location. This is a small town yet rates exceed $125/night even at government rate even though government reimbursement is $83. Morning food was lacking and staff used excuse for two days that delivery did not come on Friday. I arrived on Sunday so food should have been obtained from alternate source.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank TEH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 256 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

The staff is friendly and the amenities are very nice. Their rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable for a good nights sleep. I loved their pillow-not too hard and not too soft. The continental breakfast was really good and had lots of choices so would be great for a family to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Clean rooms, Friendly staff, and good breakfast! Also very spacious rooms! Internet was was easy to access. Right next door to a HyVee & Across the streer from a Target, so I would give the location an A+ as well. ZERO complaints and HIGHLY recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ottumwa, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to see that overall we were able to provide you with a great experience during your stay here at the Hampton Inn Ottumwa! Should your travels bring you back to the area we would love for you to choose the Hampton Inn Ottumwa for your lodging needs! Wishing you safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have stayed in many motels in Ottumwa over the years and this one is by far the best. I will be staying here again. Good value for the money, very clean, great location and a terrific bed. The hotel is quite new and shopping is very handy as there is a major grocery store next door.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ottumwa, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience through Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay here at our property! Should your travels bring you back to the area we would love for you to choose the Hampton Inn Ottumwa for your lodging needs! Wishing you safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Every time we go to my home town (Eldon) we stay in the Hampton in Ottumwa. The employees are welcoming, the rooms are always clean, and the beds are amazing! My husband and I would recomment this hotel to anyone. It is by far the best one in to stay at in that area!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ottumwa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

We'd like to thank you for taking the time to recommend our property. We are pleased to be able to provide you with a home away from home while you are here. And we look forward to your many happy returns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We found the hotel quite acceptable. It is the only place to stay in this City, in my opinion. Not much choice, but this place stood out. We did feel building shaking in the room, 4th floor, that we were told was a dryer on 1st floor? Not felt again (2 day stay) after we inquired.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Hosea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ottumwa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiance at our property. I am pleased to see that we were able to provide you a great stay. Should your travels bring you back to the area we would love for you to choose the Hampton Inn Ottumwa for your lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Super nice hotel for small group gatherings, parking great, rooms great, service and staff were excellent. I would recommend the Hampton in their new design for most any trip, most anytime. The new design concept is modern, business friendly, family friendly and just what a traveler needs when away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ottumwa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

I am pleased to see that we were able to provide you with a great stay while you were here. Should your travels bring you back to the area we would love for you to choose the Hampton Inn Ottumwa for your lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottumwa hotels
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Ottumwa
AmericInn Ottumwa
#2 of 7 in Ottumwa
121 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Ottumwa
82 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ottumwa
Hotel Ottumwa
#5 of 7 in Ottumwa
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Super 8 Ottumwa
Super 8 Ottumwa
#3 of 7 in Ottumwa
120 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Ottumwa
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Ottumwa
Days Inn Ottumwa
#6 of 7 in Ottumwa
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ottumwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ottumwa

Address: 943 N Quincy Ave, Ottumwa, IA 52501-3851
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ottumwa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ottumwa
Price Range: $103 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ottumwa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Ottumwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing