We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the cheap” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ottumwa
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
514 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“On the cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here for a work related visit. Arrived after check in, greeted immediately. Went to room which was already cold because the air was on for us. Excellent! Threw our stuff and left for the evening. Came back about 9 PM and stayed in for the night. There is a snack machine and pop machine. Ice machine on the second floor. Bed is soft with four pillows on a king bed. Black out curtains. Window air unit. Desk if you would like to work. Nice chair to relax in. Bedside tables with one plug in per light. Bathroom is clean with a decent shower. Conditioner is included. Enough towels for three people...? Weird. Fridge and microwave in room. There is an iron in the room. Quiet area and the only thing we heard was the doors slamming when people go in and out to smoke outside. Other than that it was great as far as noise goes. Hot breakfast available which included eggs and sausage. Eggs were not looking too good but the sausage looked decent. Checked out and were offered two bottles of water for our trip. Nice touch. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuletzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
12
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Van Buren, Arkansas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

As you drive up the lot in front of the building is over grown so my first impression was not good. The motel is fantastic, clean, quuiet and the staff is wonderful. The location is good and just down the street is a Mexican restaurant worth visiting(Potros Garcia).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwh916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Very clean and neat, pet friendly, and courteous staff. The beds were very comfortable. There is a pool and hot tub which I did not use, but they looked great too. Breakfast bar was included. Best place in Ottumwa by far!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st peters mo
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great hotel staff -- clean room -- convenient location - modern decor.. Wonderful selection for breakfast.. Took suggestion on Best BBQ in town for dinner -- lets just say, good thing there was a 10% discount...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvis, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have stayed at many Hotels in my seventeen years of Railroading. I found this Quality Inn & Suites to be EXCELLENT in Customer Service, Friendliness, and Comfort. The Owners, Salil and Tania do everything in their power to make you feel at home. The desk staff always have a smile and a willingness to help in anyway possible. Kudos to Nate, Diane, and Adam, for such wonderful Customer Service. I must also mention a wonderful Housekeeper and Food preparer, Mirna. Mirna is a very good asset to Quality Inn & Suites. If your traveling for Business, Vacation, or just a night to get away from it all, I would HIGHLY recommend you to stay here.

Room Tip: Not a tip for rooms. I wanted to say that I put very good for the restaurant rating, for the free br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Quality. period. Staff more helpful than expected, Extended business trip in Ottumwa, and I was very pleased to find these accommodations so inexpensive, and so comfortable. Staff were professional, and helpful, I was a problem guest with lots of questions, and needs, and they either solved my problems or guided me to the solutions. Always friendly, helpful, and seemingly happy to be so. Thanks. I will be back.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor, and if possible, will be on the second floor next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed just one night but we will be back. This hotel isn't fancy but it is clean and comfortable and the staff (we dealt with Nate) was very helpful. Our son is attending college here and we mentioned this to him when we were checking in. Nate took the time to show us a map, circle some areas on it that he felt we should know about, and explained the layout of the town. He also made some recommendations on places to eat that we went too and they were very good. Thank you, Nate for making us feel welcome! The pool and hot tub are a little small but they appear to be very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bplynch92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottumwa hotels
3.1 mi away
AmericInn Ottumwa
AmericInn Ottumwa
#2 of 7 in Ottumwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ottumwa
Hampton Inn Ottumwa
#1 of 7 in Ottumwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Ottumwa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Ottumwa
Super 8 Ottumwa
#4 of 7 in Ottumwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Ottumwa
Days Inn Ottumwa
#6 of 7 in Ottumwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Ottumwa
Hotel Ottumwa
#5 of 7 in Ottumwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 125 W. Joseph Ave, Ottumwa, IA 52501 (Formerly Heartland Inn Ottumwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ottumwa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ottumwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Ottumwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing