We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New place worse food”
Review of Bubba-Q's

Bubba-Q's
Ranked #2 of 80 Restaurants in Ottumwa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Description: All the things you love about high quality local BBQ, now with grilled steaks, burgers, salads scratch made rubs,sauce,sides and desserts. Now taking reservations for our large group seating privacy in our "Barn" meeting/party room.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New place worse food”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Me my husband and 2 kids went to see what the new location was all about BC we loved the one down town...well harsh to say but it was horrible...there wasn't many people there but no one had cleaned off any tables so we had to wait for that then our service was horrible everyone seemed to be confused on how to waitress and to top it offthe food came out cold the kids wouldn't even eat it...over all not impressed

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelchild44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    23
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottumwa, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in town!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I just went to Bubba Q's new location at Quincy Place Mall tonight for the first time. We had to wait about 25 minutes for a table bacause it was so busy but it was worth the wait! We ate with another couple and everything was delicious! We had everything from ribs to the soup to prime rib and even the bacon brownie. No complaints from any of us! We got stuffed and still had to ask for a doggie bag! The wait staff and hostess were very friendly. We will definately be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mandyjc814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointment-don't waste your time”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My family and I tried out their new location at the mall. We arrived around 1:40 thinking the lunch rush would be almost over. Apparently not. After waiting about 5 minutes we were seated. We ordered our drinks and lunch at the same time. Then it took 45 minutes to get our food! I can not understand what could possibly take so long...it's bbq, it's already been cooked! Once we FINALLY got the food it wasn't even hot, more like room temperature. Also the waitress that took our order, we never saw her again; she is not the person who brought us the food or our check. Do not plan to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bubba knows barbeque.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the small meal deal for $5 which consists of a sandwich, one side, and a drink. The pork sandwich was excellent and huge. My husband ordered the baked beans for his side, and I had the potato salad. Both were great, but the beans were especially delicious. It was a great meal at a great price and the next time I am in Ottumwa I will definitely eat here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELDON
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“not the best”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This just was not the best experience overall. the BBQ was okay but nothing to shout about. I wont go back

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marden726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba-Q's also viewed

 

Been to Bubba-Q's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing