We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Oskaloosa
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This place is GROSSSS!! The floor was filthy, there was a wooden stick in the window to hold it closed cause the window locks didnt work, walls are paper thin, the bathroom is very very small and also gross. There was food and dirt all around the walls and in the AC unit vents. I have stayed in alot of hotels over my years and this is by far the worst one, hands down. there was a big event in town, so all other hotels were full, i called and complained to the front desk,she agreed with me that the carpet was gross....that has to tell you something. I slept on top 2 blankets on the bed, NOT under the covers, but i did inspect the bed for about 15 mins before i got on it. Me and my wife would not even walk in the room without shoes on. I took pictures of the room, if you would like, email me and ill send you the pictures of it, damjeepster@yahoo.com. DONT STAY HERE!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, sleep in car if have to
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great place to stay. Clean room, nice funishings, plenty of cable channels, good wi-fi, comfortable beds (not hard as a rock.), microwave, & fridge also wonderful. The rates where also pretty good. Of all the motels that we stayed in that holiday weekend this one was by far the best.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

It was a nice room but we had to choose to leave the window open and hear the traffic or to turn on the loud air conditioning. There was no breakfast available when we were there and we were not told this fact until after we paid for the room.

Room Tip: There was no breakfast available when we were there. We were not told this fact until after we paid...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

For the past 17 years, I've frequented Oskaloosa on business. This motel has become my first choice here. Clean, good-sized rooms have quality beds, plenty of cable channels, good wi-fi, fridge & microwave, good desk and furniture. It is well-managed, especially recently. Rates are good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

this place is going through some renevations.it was great for my stay.clean.comfortable.also micro fridge was great. high speed internet was working good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler56609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights and it was very interesting to say the least! Our room was a newly renovated room that looked like it was renovated 15 years ago air conditioning in the cupboard did not properly cool the room down. Laura was always polite to me but my husband was not so lucky and nor were many others. The breakfast was a joke on the first day the kitchen had been rained in the second there was none left and the rest of our stay there was none because the food had been stolen. A very rundown hotel that is about to change it's name so beware. Why did we continue our stay because the knoxville Nationals were on and the Iowa state fair and we couldn't go anywhere else and we were charged our whole stay when we checked in.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WAmum0f4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

When part of our group arrived, Laura was very hopeful. Only to become frustrated in what was not working. We reserved 5 rooms - one room requested to be on the ground floor. When part of our group arrived and was checking in, 2 rooms would not open with 'card'-key door system. Two rooms were needed yet in our group. The ground floor was taken - but was very tight and an auquered set up, with most having the A.C. positioned in the closets (?). For what 'they' had to work with, the manager 'worked' with us and did the best she could have done in this situation. She compensated room rates for the two parties that arrived late in the evening - one paying for a room at a nearby hotel - for a needed ground floor room, and the other room also for the confussion and frustration we had with the reserved rooms not being able to open to use.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddwess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oskaloosa
2.3 mi away
EverSpring Inn & Suites
EverSpring Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Oskaloosa
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#2 of 5 in Oskaloosa
41 reviews
19.9 mi away
Super 8 Ottumwa
Super 8 Ottumwa
#4 of 7 in Ottumwa
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Pella
18.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pella
19.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Ottumwa
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa

Address: 1315 A Ave E, Oskaloosa, IA 52577-4201
Location: United States > Iowa > Oskaloosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Oskaloosa
Price Range: $63 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing