We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay !”
Review of Evergreen Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Evergreen Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Osceola
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay !”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had a great stay at the Evergreen! The room was very clean and comfortable. It looked like they had recently done quite a bit of work on the motel. The bathroom had all new tile and fixtures. Our room had a TV and a fridge. The Evergreen had all the basics you need without any extra frills. Very affordable….who doesn’t like to save money in this economy! Overall a great value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Duluth85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVERGREEN-INN-HWY34, Manager at Evergreen Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thanks glad you had a nice stay, we try to keep cost down where we can
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    44
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
53
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Wow what a great stay. We work all over the united states installing fiber cable and hands down this was our favorite place. They cleaned the rooms everyday with a smile and were awsome. Kat and joel will work with you in anyway they can to make your stay better. That is hard to find these days. Great, quiet and relaxing....like staying in a cabin in minnestoa

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mastec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVERGREEN-INN-HWY34, Manager at Evergreen Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
It was a pleasure to serve you, hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

A small, clean place to stay away from the interstate noise. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rollie-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVERGREEN-INN-HWY34, Manager at Evergreen Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thanks for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I spent a very comfortable evening at the Evergreen Inn for $50 and some change. Osceloa is 45 minutes from Des Moines; if one checks Des Moines lodging prices, one will see the value.

As previous reviews have noted, the Evergreen Inn is a old-time pre-Interstate motel. The current owner has put a huge amount of work into the place and is currently remodeling it room by room. After chatting with him, I realized that while it still looks like a '40s motel, most everything has been renovated. The roof and exterior siding are new. My room had been freshly painted. Upon examination, the furniture and bathroom fixtures, while the appropriate style for a retro property, were also all new.

The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful--and not just the canned insincierities learned by employees of big chains. These folks were genuine, particularly Kat, the delightful clerk. Amenities included microwave and refrigerator, with ice available in the office--and not the usual insipid machine ice, but big honest cubes.

Lawn furniture was available to while away the evening on the lawn watching small town America pass by--which despite being on the main highway through town, it did with a minimum of noise. For fans of Victorian architecture, the house across the street, which is owned by the same folks who own the Evergreen, is a delightful example--and it's for sale.

I've stayed at the other mom 'n 'pop motel in Osceloa--and I much prefer the Evegreen

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zundapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVERGREEN-INN-HWY34, Manager at Evergreen Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, we are not the biggest but we try hard, and KAT does her best to make our guest comfortable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalama, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Went to Iowa for a wedding and stayed for a few days. Choose this place 'cause of the other reviews I had read and I agree with them. The people were VERY nice and helped out with things like loaning us an iron and ironing board before our event. If we are ever back in that area of the state we will stay there for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bigEIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVERGREEN-INN-HWY34, Manager at Evergreen Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thanks, hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossville, Indiana
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at this motel based on the reviews here. It is a nice clean place that takes you back to an earlier time when this is what motels looked like. We were unable to pick up the WiFi with our computers and even our Verizon gizmo couldn't get enough signal to work. So we spent a quiet evening without email and such. We did have some worried family members who noticed our daily travel update was missing, but this was a good experience and a restful night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sewbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVERGREEN-INN-HWY34, Manager at Evergreen Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thanks for staying, we have since upgraded our WiFi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Beautifully redecorated motor inn style from the 1950's, reasonably priced, pleasant proprietor.

Room Tip: I have stayed here several times over the past twenty years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVERGREEN-INN-HWY34, Manager at Evergreen Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
We appreciate your business thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osceola
1.7 mi away
Lakeside Hotel Casino
Lakeside Hotel Casino
#3 of 7 in Osceola
459 reviews
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Osceola
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Osceola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Osceola IA
Super 8 Osceola IA
#5 of 7 in Osceola
173 reviews
20.2 mi away
Little River Inn Motel & Guest House
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Blue Haven Motel
#7 of 7 in Osceola
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Inn

Property: Evergreen Inn
Address: 221 W McLane St, Osceola, IA 50213-1508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Osceola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Osceola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Evergreen Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Evergreen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Inn Osceola, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing