We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10th Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel Casino
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Osceola
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Was our 10th wedding anniversary the hotel was nice big roomy room but had a free buffet and they would not honor it due to a mistake the printers made so that was a damper on our night had to get in the car and find another place to eat.The casino was ok but very very tight machines can hardly win anything.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for Lakeside Hotel Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 485 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

After traveling for 8 hours we wanted somewhere with a comfy bed & a clean room. We called ahead for rates & they were not to bad with the AARP discount. Pulled in around 8pm checked in & they asked for our aarp card, hubby pulled out & she said they could not accept it because it expired last month. I said are you kidding ???? She said, no sorry. Being tired we said whatever charge us the full amount. Got to our room & it had not been cleaned in fact it was filthy. Went back to the desk they gave us a different room which that room wasn't the cleanest but we were so tired & have been screwing around with getting into a room for 45 min we overlooked it went to bed & got the heck out of there as fast as we could the next morning. Not a good experiance....

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolY861SO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

A friend and I attended a show (Kris Kristoferson) at Lakeside Casino. We ate at one of the bars beforehand avoiding the ridiculously long line at the buffet which continued to be long till after 8 PM. We each had a hot dog and a beer and it was ok for bar food. The worst part was the smoky atmosphere throughout, which is what I really hate about casinos. The casino itself was rather small I thought and busy but that isn't surprising on a Friday night.
The concert was good although I thought the tickets were a bit pricey ($60) for just a chair on the floor, no raised seating. It's basically a huge conference room with a stage on one side and then they just set up chairs for the concert. The sound and lighting were adequate, everything started on time and Kris played for 90 minutes. It was a very enjoyable time.
We didn't stay in the hotel but they were full and are in the process of adding on so business must be good. All in all I would go back for a show but would probably avoid the buffet again. I'm not a fan of waiting in long lines.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marej50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Our latest visit to Terrible's was a 2 night stay to see a show and spend some time in the casino. We hadn't been to Terribles is several years and was dissapointed to see that the property has gone down-hill some since then. The rooms have not been kept up as there were holes in the blinds, loose tiles on the bathroom floor, a wedge of wood stuck out from beneath the toilet to keep it level etc. Aside from the physical condition of the room it was very clean. They are building a new wing onto the hotel and a sign promises that the old rooms will get a face lift after the new side opens. The hotel staff were all very nice and helpful. Other than the room, we were very dissapointed in the restaurant with both the quality of food and the terrible servive (no pun intended). The casino was about the same as I recall but was in need of some good housekeeping. I'm hopefull that the new hotel will put some new life into the rest of the property; we'll have to see when it opens next year. I will not be going back until then.

Room Tip: Lower floors have walkout to lake and lake view
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerMar1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This all suite hotel provides rooms much larger than most commercial properties. The low rate included two breakfast buffets.
The suite is well appointed with Microwave and a refrigerator. High speed internet access is provided. A great place to stay and play their games, too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grannymaryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Terrible's and we were very happy with our room. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows are absolutely great. The television was a nice LG flat screen with about 8 channels to choose from.


We received 2 free breakfast buffets with our package and we were both glad that they were free. The food was okay, but certainly not worth writing home about.

The casino is fine for those who want to play machines but we were greatly disappointed with the lack of blackjack tables. They had one $5 table with people waiting to play. They had one $10 table with a few players and they had a $25 table with a bored dealer standing behind it with nothing to do. They also had about ten other tables that sat unused. This was the case both nights of our stay which was on a weekend.

Nice room but there is nothing to do.

Room Tip: Book early, there is a casino attached and rooms fill up quickly.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walleye1238204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We visited Terrible's Lakeside Casino on a Friday evening because we had purchased tickets to a Gordon Lightfoot concert being held there at 8:00 that night. We knew we'd be passing by the area on our return home from a vacation so stayed at a nearby motel and visited the facility early that evening expecting to dine there before the show.

First of all their friday seafood buffet had a line so long we knew we'd not be able to do it before the concert. The adjacent restaurant had bar seating only due to all tables there being used by the buffet diners. We knew the 4 of us would not soon get seats there either with numerous people standing around waiting to grab a vacant seat.

They told us of a bar in the casino that serves a limited menu so ventured there. After finally getting one of the 3 extremely busy bartenders' atterntion and asking for a cheeseburger, I was told there's be at least an hour wait for that.

By now the 8:00pm concert was just an hour away so I asked the security guard to the casino floor if there are any other options for food like a vending machine or anything. I explained that we were very hungry and if we couldn't eat now it would be after 10:00pm and it would be hard to enjoy the show. I inquired that perhaps there's a dumpster behind the kitchen that I might dive into? With a bit of sympathy he said he was sorry but had no resolution to our problem, explaining that 2 more restaurants are in the planning stage.

We finally went back to the casino bar and with some diffiiculty and a half hour wait got 4 luke-warm hot dogs for $12, woofed them down and rushed over to be seated for the show.

With ticket prices of $20, $40, and $60 we didn't expect a lot but tightly cramped seating in rows of chairs in the grand ballroom was not at all what I expected. Some patrons in the back of the room were talking loudly during the performance and proved to be very distracting. I can almost excuse that behavior considering they were probably forced to drink their dinner at the temporary bar set up at the entrance to the ballroom. What I can't excuse is the lack of casino staff to quiet the patrons making that noise.

In closing, we were very disappointed with our first visit to Terrible's Casino and can't help but feel it is badly mismanaged. With the crouds of people there they must be doing something right but I wasn't able to experience whatever it is.

Room Tip: If you plan to eat their Friday buffet get there early. The security guard told us that 90 people w...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Northwoodsman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osceola hotels
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Osceola
1.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Osceola
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Osceola
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Evergreen Inn
Evergreen Inn
#1 of 7 in Osceola
191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Osceola IA
Super 8 Osceola IA
#6 of 7 in Osceola
185 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Blue Haven Motel
#5 of 7 in Osceola
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel Casino

Address: 777 Casino Dr, Osceola, IA 50213-8298 (Formerly Terrible's Lakeside Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Osceola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Osceola
Price Range: $96 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Hotel Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Lakeside Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrible`s Lakeside Hotel Osceola
Lakeside Hotel Casino Osceola, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing