We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid”
Review of Fisherman's Wharf - CLOSED

Fisherman's Wharf
Restaurant details
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
216 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Solid”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Is obviously helped by it's lake-front location, but this is far from fine dining. Furnishings are pretty rough, and the youth-staff had energy, but lacked warmth on our visit. Food was mostly lake-basic though one of us did have a nicely grilled piece of salmon.

A nice plus of this place is it remains open to serve food throughout the entire day so you can eat during that 2pm-5pm time when most place are closed.

Would we go back? Yep. It is a solid place that stands up well against the area competition.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewStart78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ames
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Date night”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Went with the wife for a night out while on vacation. Enjoyed sitting on the deck and looking out into the lake. That's about all I liked. The drinks were weak, the food was below average, and the service wasn't good. I would not go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Last night in Okoboji”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We hosted over on a Friday night and took the last slip. It was not very crowded and we got an inside table in the bar area right away. My guy says he always has the walleye and even the smaller serving was good sized. I enjoyed the chicken breast with jerk sauce and a fruit salsa. I added the wild rice and had a good mix of flavors. I'd go back. Nothing to gush about, good food, very reasonable prices for the area and a relaxed very casual atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyersville
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Food was so-so, atmosphere great-sitting on an outside deck near the water :) Very relaxing sitting by the water watching the boats go by. There are umbrellas if you don't want to sit in the sun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BetteKDyersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the Wharf”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We love the Wharf. Always good food, great service and an awesome view of the lake and boat traffic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lesliew1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Wharf also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing