We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Okoboji

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Okoboji
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Okoboji
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I had an unpleasant two-night stay in August 2012. The Inn itself is in deperate need of a complete makeover, the paint is chipping, the wallpaper is pealing off, the television is from the 1980's. Worst of all, there is no sound barrier between the rooms or the ceiling, so we were contantly woken up at night by our neighbors. Also, we could here all of the plumbing from other units' showers and toilets at night, which made it very difficult to sleep.

I do not recommend staying at this hotel given the price tag, you will be very dissappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    20
    9
    27
See reviews for
61
20
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the first weekend of August, 2012 for my brother's wedding. My first thought when I got to my room was "what a [--]!" Our poolside room was facing the wall of another building. The staff parked their cleaning cart and garbage right in front of our room for the majority of the day. My grandparents were supposed to also have a poolside room but did not receive one and staff gave them the brush off saying they were out of luck because there were no other rooms available. They even had their confirmation and staff didn't offer them a discount or a free meal or anything at all for the mistake. There was one queen size bed and a pull out couch in our room and both were terrible. The dehumidifer was crazy loud. The rooms don't look like they've been updated in the past 50 years. Our door didn't shut tight unless it was locked. I expected something a lot nicer or even more tolerable for $225 per night. I would not stay here again even if it was free!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grove1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Okoboji hotels

Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have stayed several times at the Inn over the last 15 years. This year we stayed in a Lake Front Suite-which is to use the term "suite" very loosely. This room type is nothing more than a regular hotel room with a walk closet attached and two bunk beds inside. There is zero cool air getting in there if you close the door so be careful putting your kiddos in that stuffy box. The TV, which is bigger and wider than an TV should be that was made in the last ten years sits precariously atop a makeshift counter top, over which it hangs 6-7 inches....just enough for a toddler to grab it, knock it down and be smashed by its sheer weight. The Inn is expensive but it's lakefront so if you don't mind shelling out your hard earned dough for an amazing view and a cramped, dingy little box you have found your match. To say that this place needs a face lift is an understatement.

Room Tip: There isn't enough paint and pine-sol to make this acceptable in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WedFamTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012


I've been going to okoboji for 25 years with family and it holds a special place in our hearts. We've stayed at the Inn before, however this year was certainly the worst and a huge disappointment.

Starting with the positive - the Inn has a primo location on west lake and very central for any activities you could want.

However - the Inn has not made a single update to their facilities in 40+ years. It is a run-down mess, from the rooms to the pool to the docks to the grounds. The rooms are just tragic - the carpet and comforter are enough to make my skin crawl. The house cleaning crew spent at most 7 minutes in each room doing daily cleaning, leaving garbage in the can, hair in the bathroom, etc.

The staff was generally friendly - however service was extremely slow everywhere we went, no matter the time. All staff had to have been 22 and under, which I understand a summer job, but the Inn needs to invest in more professional staff with some authority. On top of that, 2X the employees are needed to run an efficient operation.

Needless to say, we will return to okoboji again and again, but NEVER again at the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 444ashton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McPherson
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was our first time visiting the Lake Okoboji area and we couldn't have been happier with our stay at the Inn. No the rooms are not fancy but they are very clean, well kept and nice. The staff and the guests were all friendly and made the experience very good. The pool area was almost always crowded but the pool is nice and large. We stayed in a poolside suite and although people were around the pool our room was very quiet. Loved our stay and will most definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kansas_momma40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was shocked after my experience at the "new" Inn that this was the recommended "resort" to get married at. After reviewing the initial cost, my jaw dropped... however was promised a top tier wedding experience; after all they have been doing this for decades. In addition to the Chicago level pricing, the service in exchange was horrific. My guests were appalled (some local/some out of town) that 90% of their requests were either not answered or if they were, said guests were met with childish and hostile responses; not to mention on a time line that was convenient for the Inn. This over promising left my spouse and I frustrated that we had to perform their jobs, while trying to enjoy our wedding weekend. The lead staff is stretched way too thin and the "help" is nothing more than college/highschool age kids on summer break more interested in standing around and flirting vs. helping run a business. In addition, after all is said and done... we received additional charges in the mail with no explanation. What a racket.. I suggest taking your business anywhere but here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is the 3rd year in a row that we have stayed at the Inn for a quick weekend getaway. This resort has everything we need, lakefront, big dock, boat slips for us to put our boat and doesn't require a week-long stay. You wouldn't think that these would be hard to find in a lake resort but it IS. The rooms are very, very clean - they are a little dated but everything works, the beds are comfortable, its got a TV, view of the lake, a little fridge, microwave, and hot water in the shower. We come for the lake and the quiet and that's what we get here. The staff is all very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanner150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okoboji
1.1 mi away
Okoboji Commons Hotel
Okoboji Commons Hotel
#3 of 6 in Okoboji
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.5 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Milford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
#1 of 5 in Spirit Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vintage Block Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji
1.0 mi away
Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Okoboji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Okoboji

Property: Inn at Okoboji
Address: 3301 Lake Shore Dr, PO. Box 559, Okoboji, IA 51355-2580
Location: United States > Iowa > Okoboji
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Okoboji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Okoboji 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditions begin where memories are made! The Inn at Okoboji combines charm and an incredible array of amenities along with surprising affordability. The Inn is a complete Lakefront Resort Destination offering 155 guest rooms, and a relaxing fun-filled vacation every member of the family will enjoy. We are proud to offer a wide variety of business, wedding or group packages for your special event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Okoboji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Okoboji Hotel Okoboji
Inn At Okoboji Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing