We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vintage Block Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Okoboji
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for families!!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Abe's has amazing rooms! All the amenities and location were great! The staff at the front desk were so personable and helpful! They have these really cool trolleys that you can rent and my kids loved them! We will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canewman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Vintage Block Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
THANK you for the awesome comments!! Your family was absolutley hilarious coming in on our Surrey Bikes! I wish I would of had a video of you guys pushing the surrey's up the "hill."

Thank you also for taking the time to love us up on-line!! We SOOO love that! The entire team is working so hard to create good memories for our RockStar guests so it's always extra special when someone puts it on the world wide web!! YAY!

Thanks so much!

Misty & the Entire Team at Abe's of Okoboji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    28
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
86
30
2
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Algona, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the 2nd year we've stayed at Abes for Family Reunion in July. We were very pleased with the remodeling they did since our stay last year. Great pool area that is easy to supervise the children swimming. The kids and grown ups loved the surrey bikes that we could use for free. Has an island in the middle of the parking lot with lots of chairs and a fire pit, they even furnish the wood. Agreed with the other reviewer the rooms need more lighting, but the rooms were nice and cool and clean. Rooms had lots of space. Staff was very friendly. Centralized location in Okoboji great access to the lake, bike trails, restaurants, and convenience store.

The reason I did not give it a 5 is because of the expensive price, a window blind that was broken and wouldn't close, and a bathroom fan switch that needed some work.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Vintage Block Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Tamela,

Oh, you are such a ROCKSTAR for all the fine comments and suggestions. We upped the wattage on the lightbulbs and took care of that difficult blind.

And I can't tell you how much we enjoyed your family! WHAT A BLAST! You guys are all so fun!!

Thanks again for the great comments and please come see us really soon!

WHOO-HOO!

Misty & the Entire Team of RockStars at Abe's of Okoboji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This place was wonderful. Had plenty of family activites. They were very accomodating, letting us keep the hotel late so that we could shower up after playing in a tennis tournament. We also enjoyed the surrey bikes, firepit, and swimming pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Vintage Block Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
WHEEEE! We LOVE, LOVE, LOVE these reviews! And we are so happy that you LOVED us!

Thank you kindly and you come back and see us year after year! I am so glad you were happy with all of our updates and changes! It is so fun to have our guests enjoy themselves on property and in Okoboji, cause we think both ROCK!!

Thanks again!

Misty and the entire RockStar Team at Abe's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at Abe's last year, loved it. Then, they remodeled, not good. Bed-if you like gel pads, you'll love it. I took mine off. Very poor lighting. Had all the lights on & it was still too dark. Shower-a nightmare. Ran so hot & cold, you couldn't get out of the way fast enough. There was only 2 bath towels & no extra toilet paper. There's no chest for clothes, so they just sit out on the bench in the room. No TV channel guide. Air conditioner & bathroom fan extremely loud. Just extremely disappointed & couldn't get out of there fast enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Vintage Block Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Oh Claudia!

I can't tell you how much this hurts! I knew it was coming....I tried to prepare myself....but I must say it still kinda stings. I am SOOOO sorry you were not over the top impressed with our little hotel. We have worked so hard this past 9 months and while we know we can't appeal to everyone's tastes, we are trying!

Our only rule is to be happy with your accommodations and if you aren't to please give us the opportunity to make it better! While you shouldn't have to ask for extra towels and toilet paper, I SOOO get that...I do hope when you visited with our team, they did at least provide some type of resolution. If you would ever like to share the particulars of your communication and their response, my email is misty@abesofokoboji.com

While we were not the experience you wished for (AND US TOO!) we have so many RockStar properties in Okoboji. I apologize that you weren't thrilled. Wishing you and yours the very best!

Kindly, but with an upside down grin,

Misty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Extremely friendly staff, beautifully finished rooms, and a great location. We'll come back here again and again.

We're going to be coming back here with a big group as we think it will be the perfect fit. The different sized rooms are a plus for longer stays (kitchens, multiple beds, etc).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAS_losangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Vintage Block Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
WHOO-HOOO! And we LOVE you for Loving US!! And especially for taking the time to write this review! That is so awesome! THANK YOU!

We appreciated your business and hope it won't be too long til we see you again!

Please, make it soon!

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

California, Colorado , Missouri, Iowa, Texas and Kansas, family all came together at Abe's . Misty and the staff did all they could to make the family feel at home. Each night we gather on the grassy center court, build a fire in the fire pit (wood supplied) and visit sharing stories of the past. Also, what's a good fire without s'more s and adult beverages!
The area lakes and businesses supported the family play and and meal needs. There were 30 of us! Worth a try..

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kansas251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Vintage Block Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
OHHHH, I cannot tell you how much we enjoyed your family! YOU GUYS DEFINITELY ROCKED ABE'S! And we SOOOO love that! And we also really, really love the fact that you loved us enough to take the time to write a review! We think that is the ultimate!

I know it may be years until we get the pleasure to have your group back as you like to go to new places, but, if you ever would consider it....we will welcome you back ROYALLY!

Thanks again for being such a splendid group and making your weekend so fun for all of us!

All the Best!

Misty and the entire RockStar Team at Abe's

WHOO-HOO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsley, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My employer and five of our employees stayed for almost a week this last May 2013. The hotel was amazing. Misty the new owner was very nice to work with over the phone for lining up rooms. The rooms were very clean, comfortable, and overall very nice to stay in. We will stay there again and we would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Great Choice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jajsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Vintage Block Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
AHHH, I know just this fine group of RockStars that stayed with us on business! And you indeed ROCK for taking the time to love us up on-line!! OHHH, HOW WE ADORE THAT!!

Thank you for the kind comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your time here!! Please come back again and again!

Wishing you a fabulous summer!

Misty and the entire RockStar Team at Abe's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okoboji
0.4 mi away
Okoboji Commons Hotel
Okoboji Commons Hotel
#3 of 6 in Okoboji
33 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Okoboji
Inn at Okoboji
#6 of 6 in Okoboji
111 reviews
2.3 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Milford
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
#1 of 5 in Spirit Lake
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji
1.0 mi away
Bridges Bay Resort
Bridges Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Arnolds Park
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Block Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Block Inn & Suites

Property: Vintage Block Inn & Suites
Address: 1107 Sanborn Ave, Okoboji, IA 51355-5026 (Formerly Abe's of Okoboji)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Okoboji
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Okoboji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vintage Block Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would be delighted to welcome you to Vintage Block Inn & Suites, an Uncommon Discovery full of Hip Vintage Style and Vibe. We are located a half block from the East Lake boat access and 3 blocks from the bridge that separates our beautiful lakes! We offer a unique stay with a warm breakfast, great customer service, outdoor swimming pool, fire pits, grills and rooms that sleep up to 9 people! Beautiful Luxury Pop Rocks Suite that will surpass any expectations! 34 Rooms with kitchenettes and all rooms have a refrigerator and microwave! Book at the hippest place in Okoboji! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Vintage Block Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintage Block Inn & Suites Okoboji, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing