We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THE REMODEL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vintage Block Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Okoboji
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Thank you for the super nice accommodations! Our entire family was pleasantly surprised with the degree of detail in your remodel. The kids loved the dockwood and amusement park art! And the bunkbeds. It was nice to fit all 8 of us in a room where everyone got a comfortable bed and yet we had the separate kitchen area to hang out. Your customer service was appreciated when we had a sick child. Very impressed with everything!

Room Tip: ask for the larger 2 room suites, perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 240 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed in one of their remodeled rooms last week. It surpassed every expectation! They have taken dock wood and made darling headboards and side tables, new bedding and re-did the bathroom. The room is not only clean and updated, but creative, edgy and inviting. I purchased a gift certificate for my kids to stay next summer as they have rooms with 3 beds and a bunk beds. I can't wait to see the entire place after it is done, the staff working on it was so excited! Way to go Abe's! Keep up the great work! It is nice to see people care about their hotel!

Room Tip: I stayed in king room but they showed me 2 other kinds that would be perfect for a larger family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgedRockStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here while attending a wedding. I had reserved a single king bed room about five weeks in advance. When I walked in to the lobby it seemed nice, but upon approaching the counter my expectations fell. There were two women working and while I was standing there they had a brief discussion about which one of them would be able to check me in. I was the only guest in the lobby and apparently both of them were too busy with other paperwork to check me in right away. So I just stood there. (I've attached a few pictures) We were assigned room number 43. It was NOT the king bed I had reserved, it was insanely dirty including multiple spiders and webs in every corner. There was no headboard, the TV kept turning completely red, and we discovered later that the hand towels that were folded on the rack were smeared with dirt, but it was folded to the inside. This was very alarming and strange considering that on our walk to the room we saw FIVE housekeepers walk out of one room. You would think that if five women are cleaning one room it would be spotless! I felt like they hadn't used our room in quite some time and had maybe closed it to do some maintenance and then just called it good and stuck us in there last minute. I felt over charged for a room that wasn't even what I had booked and had confirmed three days before my arrival. I'm very glad we only stayed one night and were too busy with the wedding to spend much time in our room. I have a professional certificate in Hospitality Operations Management and if I was the owner or manager of this place I would be embarrassed. I hope they take the ridiculous rate I paid and put it to good use with updates.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Grossedoutgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for the second time - for 2 nights over the 4th of July. We arrived in town around noon, but checkout wasn't until 3pm. We called the motel to see if our room was ready, and in about 10 minutes they called back saying we could check in! Very nice to be able to drop all our luggage off before heading to the lake!

Our room was clean, and maid service did a good job replacing towels and making the bed. The fridge and microwave were nice to have as well. Despite being a motel, the parking lot seemed very quiet at night. The outdoor pool was open and busy, but we never used it. The free breakfast is quite good - they have waffles, biscuits and gravy, hardboiled eggs, as well as toast, muffins, fruit, cereal, etc. They also have free ice, which is nice when you're filling up a cooler every day!

Not the most luxurious or updated accomodations, but for the price and location, you can't beat it! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njacob7508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night last August, and are planning on staying here again for 4th of July this summer. It is extremely hard to find hotels that will let you only stay 1 or 2 nights in the summer in Boji!
The rooms are outdated and beds aren't the best, but not any better that what you would find at Four Seasons or Northland Inn. Good enough for an affordable place to sleep, and a short drive to everything fun in Okoboji! We did enjoy the complemenetary breakfast on the deck.

Hoping our expeiernce this summer is good as well!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njacob7508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I had the unfortunate opportunity to stay at Abes Okoboji Motel & Suites; first impressions in the lobby area were nice. Once entering the room I found that their maid service did not do a great job as trash from the previous occupant was found. After the first night maid service came only exchanging the used towels for new towels. They did not make the bed nor take the trash out and found out the hard way that they did not provide more toilet paper. As they do not have someone in the lobby at night we had to purchase our own toilet paper. I have attached pictures of the restroom in the ice and pop room; I was looking for toilet paper and found a very unpleasing site.
The do not have a complimentary breakfast, cable, nor wireless internet. Our television worked for about thirty minutes and then the screen went red. When we informed the woman at the front desk she apologized and then informed us that the motel only has three employees including her self. I do not recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Owner at Vintage Block Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

We are sorry that Michelle did not have a good experience at Abes Okoboji Motel and Suites.
We were very disappointed that our staff did not do a good job. In April of 2012 we hired Bob and Roxy Wright as our new in house managers. We are very pleased that since they took over we have had a great response from our guests. We have repeatedly reached out to Michelle to offer her and her companion a complimentary stay but she has not responded to our efforts. Abes Okoboji Motel and Suites is working hard to be simply the best value in the heart of Okoboji!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The lobby and breakfast area have been remodeled and were very nice. The rooms are pretty outdated but were okay. Service was good and there's a nice deck and lots of outdoor seating available. The firepit was a nice addition and was used by many. If you're looking for affordable lodging, this will probably work for you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNbikerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okoboji
0.4 mi away
Okoboji Commons Hotel
Okoboji Commons Hotel
#3 of 6 in Okoboji
46 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Okoboji
Inn at Okoboji
#6 of 6 in Okoboji
118 reviews
2.3 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Milford
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spencer
2.9 mi away
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
#2 of 5 in Spirit Lake
227 reviews
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Block Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Block Inn & Suites

Address: 1107 Sanborn Ave, Okoboji, IA 51355-5026 (Formerly Abe's of Okoboji)
Location: United States > Iowa > Okoboji
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Okoboji
Price Range: $115 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vintage Block Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would be delighted to welcome you to Vintage Block Inn & Suites, an Uncommon Discovery full of Hip Vintage Style and Vibe. We are located a half block from the East Lake boat access and 3 blocks from the bridge that separates our beautiful lakes! We offer a unique stay with a warm breakfast, great customer service, outdoor swimming pool, fire pits, grills and rooms that sleep up to 9 people! Beautiful Luxury Pop Rocks Suite that will surpass any expectations! 34 Rooms with kitchenettes and all rooms have a refrigerator and microwave! Book at the hippest place in Okoboji! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vintage Block Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintage Block Inn & Suites Okoboji, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing