We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and decent accomodations for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vintage Block Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Okoboji
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location and decent accomodations for the price”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night last August, and are planning on staying here again for 4th of July this summer. It is extremely hard to find hotels that will let you only stay 1 or 2 nights in the summer in Boji!
The rooms are outdated and beds aren't the best, but not any better that what you would find at Four Seasons or Northland Inn. Good enough for an affordable place to sleep, and a short drive to everything fun in Okoboji! We did enjoy the complemenetary breakfast on the deck.

Hoping our expeiernce this summer is good as well!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njacob7508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    28
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
87
30
2
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I had the unfortunate opportunity to stay at Abes Okoboji Motel & Suites; first impressions in the lobby area were nice. Once entering the room I found that their maid service did not do a great job as trash from the previous occupant was found. After the first night maid service came only exchanging the used towels for new towels. They did not make the bed nor take the trash out and found out the hard way that they did not provide more toilet paper. As they do not have someone in the lobby at night we had to purchase our own toilet paper. I have attached pictures of the restroom in the ice and pop room; I was looking for toilet paper and found a very unpleasing site.
The do not have a complimentary breakfast, cable, nor wireless internet. Our television worked for about thirty minutes and then the screen went red. When we informed the woman at the front desk she apologized and then informed us that the motel only has three employees including her self. I do not recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Owner at Vintage Block Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
We are sorry that Michelle did not have a good experience at Abes Okoboji Motel and Suites.
We were very disappointed that our staff did not do a good job. In April of 2012 we hired Bob and Roxy Wright as our new in house managers. We are very pleased that since they took over we have had a great response from our guests. We have repeatedly reached out to Michelle to offer her and her companion a complimentary stay but she has not responded to our efforts. Abes Okoboji Motel and Suites is working hard to be simply the best value in the heart of Okoboji!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waconia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The lobby and breakfast area have been remodeled and were very nice. The rooms are pretty outdated but were okay. Service was good and there's a nice deck and lots of outdoor seating available. The firepit was a nice addition and was used by many. If you're looking for affordable lodging, this will probably work for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNbikerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okoboji, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The Okoboji Motel is convenient to all attractions around the lake, reasonably priced, clean and comfortable. What more can you ask for? The staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable of the area. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okoboji
0.4 mi away
Okoboji Commons Hotel
Okoboji Commons Hotel
#2 of 6 in Okoboji
34 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Okoboji
Inn at Okoboji
#6 of 6 in Okoboji
111 reviews
2.3 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Milford
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
#1 of 5 in Spirit Lake
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji
1.0 mi away
Bridges Bay Resort
Bridges Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Arnolds Park
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Block Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Block Inn & Suites

Property: Vintage Block Inn & Suites
Address: 1107 Sanborn Ave, Okoboji, IA 51355-5026 (Formerly Abe's of Okoboji)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Okoboji
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Okoboji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vintage Block Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would be delighted to welcome you to Vintage Block Inn & Suites, an Uncommon Discovery full of Hip Vintage Style and Vibe. We are located a half block from the East Lake boat access and 3 blocks from the bridge that separates our beautiful lakes! We offer a unique stay with a warm breakfast, great customer service, outdoor swimming pool, fire pits, grills and rooms that sleep up to 9 people! Beautiful Luxury Pop Rocks Suite that will surpass any expectations! 34 Rooms with kitchenettes and all rooms have a refrigerator and microwave! Book at the hippest place in Okoboji! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vintage Block Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintage Block Inn & Suites Okoboji, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing