We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Website is deceiving!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Okoboji
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wow, What a let down for my family vacation. Numerous problems:
1. Website showed a King Suite with two rooms (which we booked, or so we thought), but was not what we got.
2. Deluxe continental breakfast included chunky outdated milk cartons, dry pastries, and the only thing to make it "deluxe" was the one waffle machine!
3. The gal that checked us in had only been there for two days... there were no managers to help her check us in and it took well over a half of an hour. She had to go get the restaurant manager to help her out. She was polite and friendly.
4. The pool was dirty, there were often no pool towels, the water was warm, but the room was cool. The chlorine was way too strong, by the second day in the pool my kids had broken out in hives from the pool!
5. The hotel was dirty. It seemed that they needed a facilities manager to get things fixed, cleaned, and updated.
6. Hotel was not secure, entrance doors were unlocked at all times.
7. Not handicap friendly.
We will not return to this "Resort"... ever! Please reconsider staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowwoodManager, General Manager at Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

I would like to apologize for any inconviences that you had during your stay. Our staff strives to give the best service possible to all of our guests. Our website is being re-designed to more accurately portray our suite availabe. However, during your stay we did offer and you accepted a banquet room that you and your family could use during your time here. I appreciate your feedback on our continental breakfast. I am happy to tell you that we have removed items and replaced them with ones that we believe will be more satisfying to all our customers. Our pool is checked daily by our staff to ensure cleanliness and all safety rules are followed. We do check all our chemical levels to ensure that they are at a safe level for everyone. Once again I apologize for any issues that you had during your stay. We hope that you do stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 200 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

This property has been remodeled and updated, very nice job. I had a room with a slider to the outside, 1114, and it had a nice tile shower, new carpet, flat screen TV, plus a fridge, microwave and a desk with an swivel chair along with a overstuffed chair. They have a very nice restaurant right on the property as well. But, the restaurant isn't open for breakfast, they do offer a free continental breakfast. Nice workout center. All in all this is a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: I requested a room with a sliding door, room 1114 and I was very happy with it. It looks out on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 87Twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowwoodManager, General Manager at Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review! We always strive to make each guest experience a positive one. I'm glad your room accommodations were to your standards. We take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms, our amenities and the friendliness of our staff! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Arrowwood was a nice hotel. Our room was clean and cute and smelled good. Our room had no refrigerator or microwave, so I would not choose this room for an extended stay.The in-room wi-fi worked well. The fitness center had 5 or 6 machines and a full weight bench so it was much better than some other hotels in this area. We did not use the pool but it looked lovely. There was a large group checking in when we arrived so it took us about 20 minutes to get through the line which was irritating. It would be nice if large groups were handled by one staff member so that regular travelers could get through check-in more quickly.

Minerva's, the on-site restaurant was great. Their food is delicious; however, dinner can be a bit pricey for a family on vacation. We happened to be there on the night they had the pasta bar. You select your own meat and or veggies and the 2 chefs cook it their in front of you. You are able to add your own amount of garlic, pesto, cheese, spice etc...which is quite nice. There are 2 different noodles and 3 sauces available. We had to stand in line awhile but it was extremely tasty. We sat in the bar so we could order right away otherwise there was a 30 minute wait (around 6:15 pm). The service was slow and spotty at best but they were very busy.

The hotel does offer a continental breakfast. It was in a back room with no clock or television. So for the business traveler a bit inconvenient if you want to catch the news/weather/time etc. There was a complimentary newspaper. The breakfast was well maintained by staff. My only issue was that it was an all carbs breakfast. Waffles, toast, bagels, cereal, muffins, pastries. There were whole oranges and milk.

Overall, I liked this hotel and would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowwoodManager, Front Office Manager at Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive review! We always strive to make each guest experience a positive one. I'm glad your room accommodations and family vacation was splendid. We take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms, our amenities and the friendliness of our staff! We do appreciate your patience with check-in, as there was a big group checking in to the house. As you could tell, Minervas’s pasta bar is quite popular! It is also very delicious. The wait is well worth it. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from a State Physical Education convention and stayed at the Arrowwood Resort for three nights. Check-in with Kelli was so pleasant as she worked to get our group adjoining rooms.. She went above and beyond her job in helping to make our stay enjoyable. She even brought in "shoes" to let a friend borrow as she had forgotten her own. ::) The waitress in the restaurant was also very kind and patient as it was close to closing time when we were there. I think her name was "Raquel". I left my phone charger in the room.. and spoke with Brooklyn on the phone about getting it returned to me. She too has been very very kind and pleasant to work with.. The cleaning "girls" checked with us to make sure we had everything we needed also. Keep up the good work Arrowwood!! You are to be commended on your great service!!

Room Tip: Love the patio room looking over the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurleyhermie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowwoodManager, Front Office Manager at Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive review! We always strive to make each guest experience a positive one. I'm glad your room accommodations and the conference were splendid. We take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and friendliness of our staff! I’m so glad the Kellie, Raquel and Brooklyn were a step above the rest! I will also make sure to tell our housekeeping staff how helpful they were during your stay. We enjoyed having you and your conference at our resort. We are a great convention hotel and we can’t wait to host your conference again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have been having our annual convention here for years and this was by far the best one yet. The staff was wonderful, the food was great and the rooms were spotless. I spoke to many of my colleagues who were also very impressed. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking to have a meeting in Okoboji!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowwoodManager, Front Office Manager at Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive review! We always strive to make each guest experience a positive one. I'm glad your room accommodations and the conference were wonderful. We take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and friendliness of our staff! We are a great convention hotel and we can’t wait for your conference again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This resort is pretty good, its expensive though. But it was labor day weekend in a lake town so I won't hold that against them!
Room was very nice, but the hallways smelled terrible. Like a musty/sewer smell. Thank GOD the rooms didn't have this problem!
Love that they have bath and body works soaps and hair supplies, plus I have the La Fresh make up wipes they give.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valtravelpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowwoodManager, Front Office Manager at Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive review! We always strive to make each guest experience a positive one. I'm glad your room accommodations were wonderful. We are proud to offer some name brand amenities to our guests, and are glad that you enjoyed them! We have addressed and taken care of the smell issue. We have very reasonable rates in the off-season, from October 1st-April 30th. (Plus our fall season is just so beautiful!) We hope that you will visit us again in the future and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed with friends and our kids over a long weekend. Booked rooms on Expedia, got to hotel and had to wait for them to figure out our rooms. Guess some issues with Internet bookings. To their benefit, they did give us drink coupons to have a drink at the bar while waiting. Rooms were alright once we got in. Clean but could use some updating. One room did not receive any housekeeping service at all & we were out of the room. Even seen the maid staff nearby when we left, whole deal was odd. We did call when we got back and really no real answers why. All in all, ok location wise, but other Arrowwood properties have been much nicer. A splurge that can't really justify.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jan4645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowwoodManager, Front Office Manager at Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay. I cannot apologize enough for your experience at check-in and with housekeeping. I have addressed these issues with all of our staff and they know the importance of cleanliness and friendliness for each guest, and that your experience and accommodations are not acceptable. I am glad that we were able to remedy the situation at check-in, and you could enjoy some drinks at the bar. We do take your experience to heart. Our goal is to create an experience at check-in that welcomes you into our home. We hope to see you again at Arrowwood and our staff eagerly awaits your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okoboji
2.7 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Milford
111 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
#2 of 5 in Spirit Lake
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okoboji Commons Hotel
Okoboji Commons Hotel
#3 of 5 in Okoboji
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites near Okoboji Lake
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji
0.4 mi away
Vintage Block Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center

Address: 1405 Highway 71 N, Okoboji, IA 51355-7736
Location: United States > Iowa > Okoboji
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Okoboji
Price Range: $88 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrowwood is nestled in the beautiful Iowa Great Lakes Region next to the 27 hole championship Brooks Golf Course and in the heart of all the lakes area has to offer - swimming, waterskiing, boating, windsailing, winter activites, shopping, concerts, plays, museums, amusement parks, bike trails and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrowwood Hotel Okoboji
Arrowwood Resort And Conference Center Okoboji, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing