We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drive a little further...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Oelwein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Oelwein
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oelwein
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Drive a little further...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Traveling with a few others, called and made reservations a couple weeks ahead for double rooms. Got there, and they put my buddy and I in a smoking king single (neither of us smoke). Went to see about a switch, and found two employees outside on a bench smoking. I asked if anyone could help, and they told me they could. Told them we had booked double non-smoking rooms, and the response I received was "Well, it has a couch..." Seriously? I asked if this was the only option, since our rooms were booked weeks ago, and the gal (the manager, i believe) got kind of snippy and told me that's what she had, so I was "stuck with it." If we would have known all this, we would have driven a little further for a better hotel. Terrible customer service. If you are out this way, save yourself the trouble and stay in Independence or even Waterloo.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverado11685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OelweinSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Oelwein, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I'm sorry your experience while staying in Oelwein wasn't all that you had hoped for. Unfortunately when we deal with groups as large as you we are not always able to accommodate the needs. When your office made the reservations we tried to make it clear that a few of the rooms would be smoking. We were told this would be fine since many of the men in your group were smokers. We even included a few of our suites to allow the larger group room to come together and meet as a team. Unfortunately when checking in your men were not given a choice of smoking or non smoking and a few non smokers were put into smoking rooms.
I also want to apologize for the way I responded to you when you requested a different room. It seemed obvious to me that you were not understanding that your room did in fact have a second bed in the form of a pull out sleeper sofa. I was merely trying to explain it to you in a way you could understand. Rather than you being stuck, I felt that I was stuck because I had no other rooms to even offer you once your group was completely checked in. I would have liked nothing better than to be able to move you to a room that was more to your liking.
In the future I’d like to spend more time with you during check in to help everyone get into a room that fits their needs better.
We look forward to serving the needs of your company and customer service is the first step in doing this. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do to help improve your next visit in the Oelwein area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    50
    34
    15
    6
See reviews for
84
19
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I don't enjoy staying at small name hotels but this hotel has changed my attitude towards these smaller towns, The staff here saw to my needs and I found everyone to be very welcoming. The hotel was very clean even though they were in the middle of a messy renovation.

Room Tip: I have new respect for people working in places like this after seeing the way people treat them, My...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OelweinSuper8, Manager at Super 8 Oelwein, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, I was a pleasure having you stay at our Oelwen Facility. I'm glad we were able to change your impression of a small town hotel . We look forward to having you back in the area again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oelwein
14.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Inn & Suites
13.5 mi away
Super 8 Independence
Super 8 Independence
#2 of 2 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
13.6 mi away
Boarders Inn & Suites Fayette, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Days Inn Evansdale Waterloo
25.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterloo Cedar Falls
24.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Oelwein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Oelwein

Property: Super 8 Oelwein
Address: 210 10th St SE, Oelwein, IA 50662-3022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Oelwein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oelwein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Oelwein 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Oelwein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Oelwein
Oelwein Super 8
Oelwein Super Eight
Super 8 Oelwein Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing