We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Customer Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Northwood
Certificate of Excellence
Beach Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have used this hotel roughly 10 times... The hotel is connected to the casino (PLUS!) - the hotel is a very clean, neat hotel. It caters to families also... The pool area is great! The only issue is the morning breakfast.... The food is not as fresh as other Country Inn & Suites we've stayed at...the selection is also not as good..... Besides a couple of fast food places in the casino and at the gas station across the street - there is no where within a few miles to eat....

Room Tip: All are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments and for coming back to our hotel time and time again. We greatly appreciate your business and your comments. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and breakfast offerings and will continue to work on this. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    82
    24
    6
    10
See reviews for
95
125
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

If you are going to gamble or enjoy the live entertainment at the casino there are only two hotels to stay at, this one which is attached and VERY convenient or the Holiday Inn Express across the parking lot/street. Stayed here because it was attached to the casino and their rates were about $10-$20 less than HIE. Easy, fast check-in. Staff pleasant, rate under $100 on a Saturday night. Room (202) was up to date, clean and fresh smelling, white bed linens. Bathroom was clean and water pressure good. Bed comfortable. Room air temp was easily controlled. I changed the auto setting on the thermostat to "on" for a little fan noise because it was soooo quiet! We did not use the pool but it looked decent. Exercise room was very nice. Breakfast was the only thing that might be disappointing to some. Even though it was a Sunday morning the only hot items (besides the usual waffles and oatmeal) were breakfast potatoes and scrambled eggs w/a few tiny ham bits. Guess the ham bits were the meat for the morning. So if you want more than the basic fare I would explore other options. All in all it was a very nice experience and we look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmother53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review of our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be clean and comfortable as well as our staff to be friendly. I am sorry to hear that our breakfast was not to your liking but we are always looking for new ideas and ways to improve on our food offerings to keep it inviting to our guests.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Northwood, IA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had stayed here at this place to celebrate a friends birthday. It's very convenient for being connected to the casino. Check-in was a breeze, nice and fast. I believe Nicole (I think that was her name) was the one who had helped me, and she was very accomodating. The room itself was nice. Very clean bathroom, beds were great. The only complaint I had was that the beds only had 3 pillows, and they weren't very firm. Most hotels have 4? Breakfast was good, pretty basic. No eggs or anything just the busciuts and gravy. Price paid was just perfect. If I'm in the area I will definitely be staying again. Thanks!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyJean21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your Awesome review of our hotel. I am very pleased to see that you truly enjoyed your stay with your friends and many of the amenities we offer. Please know that we do offer 4 pillows on our king beds and 3 on our queen beds. We look forward to having you and your friends as our guests the next time your travels bring you to Northwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

stopped here for just one night. liked that there was a casino next door to hang out at. room was clean and met my standards. breakfast was decent, better than some hotels i have stayed at. i would most likely stay here again if i travel in the area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay as well as the convenience to the Diamond Jo Casino. It's also good to hear that you enjoyed our continental breakfast as well. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you down our road again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
435 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and two sisters stayed here on a trip to Iowa. When I made the reservation, I was offered the Wine Special. The room rate was $119.00 plus a free bottle of wine. Three beds, a bottle of wine all for the low price of $119.00. The room was also nice. Unfortunately, they lost money at the casino next door.

Room Tip: Ask for specials, they vary per different days of the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review of our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed our Wine Special and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I was out here for a few days with work and stayed here. Although its next to the casino its run by Carlson Hotels(folks that run Radisson).

Overall, it wasn't bad. Seems like they get a lot of one nighters which wears down the hotel. Its in need of an update but its kept clean. Beds were comfy though and that's what really matters after a long day working.

Most of the employees are nice. There were a few that were a bit grumpy but in the middle of nowhere pickers can't be choosers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Nogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for the nice review of our hotel. Please know that we have started some upgrades to our property and several of our amenities we offer. We look forward to your next visit so that we can share our "New" amenities with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the "country inn & suites " last night. Used the week day special, which included a buffett dinner or lunch for $ 99.
What a great buffet ! The staff were all friendly, the room "spotless " (thankyou housekeeping! ) The bed and pillows very comfortable. My work takes me throygh that area often and this hotel will continue to be my resting spot. Highly recommended:-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank t f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMcLaughlin711, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I am very pleased to here that you enjoyed our buffet package with the casino and found our rooms to be spotless, as well as the beds and pillows comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Northwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northwood
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood
14.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea
14.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 10 in Albert Lea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
21.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood
Address: 711 Diamond Jo Ln, at Diamond Jo Casino, Northwood, IA 50459-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Northwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Northwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Northwood Hotel Northwood
Country Inn And Suites Northwood
Country Inn Northwood
Northwood Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing