We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Weekend Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4712 Wheelerwood Road, Northwood, IA 50459   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northwood
Certificate of Excellence
Owatonna, Minnesota
1 review
“Weekend Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Began staying at this hotel because of security and location reasons. Completely enjoyed my stay and decided it was the perfect place to stay each time I visit IA. Getting to know the staff on a first name basis makes it feel more like coming home then staying away from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager4712, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback regarding your visits to Northwood,IA and our Holiday Inn Express. I am happy that we are able to accomdate your needs and that staff have the opportunity to get to know you. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback,
Sherri Stencel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    19
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
21
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel appeared to be fairly new, but the entry smelled like a dog. This is a dog-friendly hotel, and the dog in the room above ours whined for about 2 hours after the owners left it alone in the room. The front desk did not have a way to contact the owners, which was aggravating. Late at night, the dog was barking for about 20 minutes and at about 6:00am, the owners were playing noisily with the dog, waking us up. We were also disappointed that the hot tub was out of service, and appeared to have been out of service for a long time, judging from the algae growing in the bottom. The pancake maker was broken, they were out of orange juice, and there was no fruit in the breakfast area. This Holiday Inn Express was not worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager4712, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
I apologize sincerely for the circumstances of your recent stay in our hotel. What you described is not typical of our hotel and is completely unacceptable. We will research your stay and take appropriate action. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback and be assured we take all guest comments very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
235 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Brand new hotel, great rooms, decent workout facility. Flat screens and typical and very comfortable brand bedding. Right next to a decent casino with a wonderful restaurant. I stay here on business when needed. A pleasant night that seems like the middle of nowhere but the casino provides enough activity and food choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpharkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager4712, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about yoru stay on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had an opportunity to utilize many of the services and amenities that we and the surrounding busninesses have to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is obviously not very old and so everything is in very good condition. Staff was very friendly.The cost was not cheap, but was reasonable for a hotel as nice as this one. This hotel was nice and quiet,plus it had a good free breakfast. They do allow pets, but I didn't notice any problems from that. Would definetly stay here again, and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Country_Traveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager4712, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback regarding your recent visit to Northwood,IA and our Holiday Inn Express. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel facilities, and our convenient breakfast.
Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback,
Sherri Stencel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Loved It! From the very beginning the front desk gal made our stay even better as she was so helpful. From the free use of the modern washer and dryer with free fabric softner to the amazing breakfast and great conversation with the staff who like to ride motorcycles. We loved our stay! BEWARE - Do not go to Diamond Jo and lose all your money lol!
The room was awesom
The pool was small but Awesome
Clean and modern
Lots of corn to look at :)

Room Tip: Just tell them what you need and they will take care of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee_u05282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster City, Iowa
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hotel is very nice and the staff is wonderful. Everyone is always kind, helpful, and friendly.

Room Tip: The suites have a nice amount of room in them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 26lovetotravel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
394 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

It's a Holiday Inn Express so, of course, it was a GREAT place to stay - very clean and comfortable with a friendly staff. Love how they provide a cold drink upon checking in (water or soda) and we were in time to get fresh chocolate cookies as well.
I was concerned when I looked out our window because we looked right across the street into the casino parking lot - by the way, the hotel provides a free shuttle to the casino if you want to go and don't care to walk. I thought maybe it might be noisy later on when people left but I shouldn't have been concerned at all. Very, very quiet.
Places to dine in the area aren't plentiful and consists of fast food or the restaurants at the casino. If you want something different, the town of Northwood is just 7 miles straight East. Read my review about Signatures Supper Club.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bountiful-IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northwood
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood
20.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea
21.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
21.8 mi away
Historic Park Inn Hotel
Historic Park Inn Hotel
#1 of 8 in Mason City
5.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood
Address: 4712 Wheelerwood Road, Northwood, IA 50459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Northwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Northwood
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Northwood Hotel Northwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing