We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mushroom Soup”
Review of Brown Bottle - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Brown Bottle
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Marion, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Mushroom Soup”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It happened the day that I went to eat, the soup was Cream of Mushroom soup. This was just as good as a Cream of Mushroom soup that I had many years ago in Scottland. I ended up buying a quart just to take home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ia_stater52302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corbin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Little pricey but good food and service”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The service was great, the food was really good they make a homemade creamy garic salad dressing that is wonderful

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelerCorbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

One of our favoirite weekday spots. We like the North Liberty location as it has convenient parking and a quiet atmosphere. The food is mediocre, but enjoyable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank greengrass06181944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lasagna is best dish”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Brown Bottle is an okay restaurant. The menu is mostly Italian, and although I haven't tasted everything I think the lasagna is the best and most dependable entree. There is also a pasta entree with vodka cream sauce that my daughter likes. Their wines by the glass are really quite good. The salad that comes with an entree is very plain. There are also sandwiches. If you are in the Iowa City area for a football game and want to get in to eat somewhere without having to wait for hours the Brown Bottle in North Liberty is a good choice. It is a place where you can get okay food at a reasonable price without a long wait. It's also a pretty good choice for kids.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 543SKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“small town restaurant with quiet atmosphere”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A pleasant,quiet place on a Monday night though with a fair crowd . Service good,food satisfactory, but nothing special. Same old menu for such italian eateries. One couple ordered the sicilian sausage pasta and reported 'adequate',my wife had the lasagna and said it was'ok' and I had chicken marsala which bore no resemblance to anything like I have ever had before. Who knows what it was. But the food was hot and the prices ok,perhaps a little pricey given the absence of any distinctive quality of food or dining room. Location, in a small strip mall(should tell one something) is odd and a bit hard to find, even though we meet friends there from time to time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RMN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Bottle also viewed

 
North Liberty, IA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing