We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“Comfortable, clean and quiet.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and quiet.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Well pleased with our overnight stay in Newton. Our room was good sized (king bed with sofa and workstation), very clean and quiet. We are very conscious of the cleanliness of motels, especially the bathrooms, and this one was spotless. Very often the bathroom floor corners gather all types of crud. This wasn't the case here. We didn't use the indoor pool, but it also looked spotless and was being used by several people. The public areas were fresh and well appointed. The only downside is that you have a short drive to a restaurant since there aren't any close to the motel. We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy j, Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. We value all feedback from the guest. Thank you for the positive remarks about the cleaniness, it is our goal to provide superior service at our hotel.

Thank you
Judy Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    43
    25
    12
    11
See reviews for
70
35
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We were surprised to find this hotel in town. It's location close to a retirement home. The building is about 15 years old. It has been redecorated in the past several years. Our room was spacious & clean. It had a king bed, sofa & desk. Unfortunately there was only one luggage rack. Our second suitcase was placed on the sofa leaving little room to sit. The staff were all friendly & accomodating. The location was nice & quiet.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Jean G,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I am happy that you liked our location and found the staff friendly and accommodating. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The HEI is a nice place to stay. It is quiet. Located about a mile from I-80 in the heart of a town that used to be the headquarters for Maytag. I have stayed here many times and have always had a wonderful stay. The night clerk Bill is a really nice person, always willing to go above and beyond his duties. Lucy the breakfast hostess is always cheerful and friendly. i highly recommend this HEI.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy j, Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your postive review. We value you as a guest and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is about 3 or 4 miles from interstate but easy to find and a quiet area. Check in was very efficient and staff was courteous and friendly. Beds were adequate, pool was great and breakfast was okay (no fresh fruit). Nice hot shower and thick towels were the best part!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jeanniehoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
268 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

After driving for seven hours all I really needed was a room with a king bed and a little room. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a king suite with separate Jacuzzi tube. The room was spacious with a sitting chair and a full sized coach. This was unexpected and really made my day. The staff was friendly and helpful. This is an older property, but was well kept. You do need your gps to find this hotel if your from out of town. Standard Hix breakfast. Decent pool and fitness room. No GUEST laundry though. Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling across country with 3 dogs. Everything was good, except it was kind of noisy. The room was clean and the staff was excellent. So far this is the second hotel we've stayed at of our 4 days so far and it was our second best. Very, very pet friendly with a nice grassy side area for dogs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTLigonier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy j, Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments in regards to your recent stay. Our goal is consistent high quality service and we are glad that is exactly what you received during your stay. We hope to see you and your dogs again in the near furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

For a holiday inn express, I was not impressed at all. Location was not very good. Couldn't find a place to park even remotely close to the hotel, Room wasn't very roomy, and the pool wasnt usable. Will not stay here again. Think I would have had better luck with a super 8 or something.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike64661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy j, Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from you recent stay with us. We sincerely apoliogize that you did not receive the service that you exprected while staying at our property. We do apologize that you encountered issue with the pool not being usable, that is not the normal condition of our hotel, and once it was reported to be broken our engineering department did reached out to the service company to repair it.Thank you again for your comments. We can't wait to have you back and to provide you with that excellent service you expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
3.2 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#3 of 8 in Newton
250 reviews
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton
17.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell
10.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa

Property: BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa
Address: 208 W 4th St N, Newton, IA 50208 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Newton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, located minutes from the new Iowa Speedway, Maytag Plant, Maytag Dairy Farms, Grinnell College, Lake Red Rock, Knoxville Raceway, Jasper Winery, Sugar Grove Vineyards and Gatheringplace, Harvestor Golf Course, Adventureland, Prairie Meadows and just 30 minutes to Des Moines. Holiday Inn Express Newton is a beautifully renovated property of 78 rooms and suites, with fitness & business center open 24 hours a day for your convenience. The interior heated swimming pool and spa are available for you and your family to enjoy at your leisure. Race fans make your reservations early for the best rates. Our spacious rooms and suites are tastefully appointed featuring a well lit work area, complimentary high speed internet, some with microwave and refrigerators and of course the Simply Smart bath experience. Your home away from home is waiting for you with a great complimentary breakfast, featuring delicious eggs, Express Roast blend coffee and many more tasty breakfast treats. Join us, we're waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newton Hotel Newton
Newton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing