We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst public relations ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Holiday Manor Newton
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Reserved 2 rooms with 2 adults per room on-line through holiday inn web site and received conformation for rate of $77 per room. Motel said rate was wrong and tried to tell me it was because of extra person in rooms. When I tried to explain that 2 per room was not extra persons, they were rude and said they set their own rates and did not have to comply wiith the conformation. I believe they dislike the military and did not want to honor the government rate. I cancelled and would recommend everyone steer clear of the Holiday Inn Express in Newton, IA.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Lmsatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 245 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

Spent two nights, left wallet in room with sizable amount of cash. After we checked out we discovered wallet was missing. I am 99 per cent certain it was taken by the maid who cleaned our room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vrnho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy j, Manager at Best Western Holiday Manor Newton, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

This is very miss leading due to the fact they are stating the wallet was stolen from the hotel. The gentleman in question was attempting to check in to hotel and when front desk asked for his credit card he did not have his wallet. His daughter than came and paid for the room for him. Once the family checked out and went home they put an ad in the Newton Daily News sunrise addition and the local paper advertising lost wallet in Newton. So it is very miss leading to post on this website that the wallet was taken from the hotel room. We are very sorry he lost his wallet but the family should not write misleading reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Two of the pillows in the bed had huge stains on them looked as if someone puked on the pillows and just turned them over. The pool area was just unsanitary. The walls and floors in the pool area were literally growing green and black mold. The bathroom in the pool area had no changing area for babies only a rusty old outdoor metal patio chair. It had about 2 inches of standing water on the floor, it was poorly lit the walls and ceiling of the bathroom were water damaged not the quality I have come to expect from the Holiday Inn express Chain. We did not recieve a morning paper. We had a huge storm 70mph winds and driving rain/ that night and were without power and no staff member came and said anythinig about saftey or anything. We were without power for 4 hours or more. Not impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andersoninc4231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

My husband and I do a lot of weekend traveling. On Friday night we originally had reservations for the Holiday Inn in Coralville, but we were ahead of schedule so we changed our reservations for Newton, IA. We have stayed at Holiday Inn Express locations before and have never been disappointed... until now.

We arrived after dark and the hotel looked nice from the outside - we thought it was a newer establishment. When we walked in everything looked dated... maybe from the 80's, but it appeared to be clean. Svetlana at the front desk was very friendly and checked us in quickly.

When we got to our room everything appeared to be fine, but upon further inspection everything had some wear to it. It seems as if this location is meeting the bare minimum of what the hotel chain requires. The pillows were not comfortable. The bed linens were very thin and had a low thread count, the towels were thin and scratchy. In the bathroom there was a crack in the tub. As a previous reviewer mentioned, there is almost no water pressure from the shower head.

While nothing was dirty, it just wasn't what I have experienced at other Holiday Inn Express locations. It seemed more like a Motel 6 or Comfort Inn.

I would not stay in this hotel again. I would travel the extra distance to Des Moines and stay somwhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

The staff is very nice. Breakfast was good. This hotel is very dated and is worn. My room has a few area with peeling wallpaper. They have the worst shower head I have ever seen, it's like 1 gallon per HOUR, yet the toilet seems like it's 5 gallons per flush, go figure... The internet is only good for browsing, you cannot watch Netflix, hulu or anything and all there is. There's an HBO guide on the nightstand, but of course there's no HBO that comes in.

There's stains on the carpet in the room, in the hallways, on the love seat in my room. It's pretty gross. I'm here on business and I doubt i'll ever be in Newton, Iowa again in the future so it's a warm room and i'll move onto the next hotel next week.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LineNoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed here as a part of a family group. This is an older hotel which has been renovated. The hallways and rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The front desk supplied me with a local map and gave good directions. Good variety at breakfast. The only change i would make would be more fruit.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
Thank travelhappyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

While completing a 17 day road trip, this was the worst of the Holiday Inn Express hotels, in fact worse than the Super 8 I stayed at in San Antonio, TX. When I checked in, the housekeeping staff and all their kids had taken over the lobby, had to watch where I was going to not have one of the toddlers run into me. The hotel was very dated, elevator very slow, rooms were dated, need to be renovated. Location is right next to Newton's downtown square. Tried the Maid Rite sandwiches right down the way, good. Breakfast area is small, dated. A poor value, but from what the rest of the group had to say about the other hotels around town, good luck finding a decent room.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigHarleyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
3.2 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#5 of 8 in Newton
282 reviews
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton
23.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Altoona Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Holiday Manor Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Holiday Manor Newton

Address: 208 W 4th St N, Newton, IA 50208-3024 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Price Range: $68 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Holiday Manor Newton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, located minutes from the new Iowa Speedway, Maytag Plant, Maytag Dairy Farms, Grinnell College, Lake Red Rock, Knoxville Raceway, Jasper Winery, Sugar Grove Vineyards and Gatheringplace, Harvestor Golf Course, Adventureland, Prairie Meadows and just 30 minutes to Des Moines. Holiday Inn Express Newton is a beautifully renovated property of 78 rooms and suites, with fitness & business center open 24 hours a day for your convenience. The interior heated swimming pool and spa are available for you and your family to enjoy at your leisure. Race fans make your reservations early for the best rates. Our spacious rooms and suites are tastefully appointed featuring a well lit work area, complimentary high speed internet, some with microwave and refrigerators and of course the Simply Smart bath experience. Your home away from home is waiting for you with a great complimentary breakfast, featuring delicious eggs, Express Roast blend coffee and many more tasty breakfast treats. Join us, we're waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Holiday Manor Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newton Hotel Newton
Newton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing