We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!”
Review of Quality Inn Newton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Newton
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Newton
1 review
“Stay away!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way home from Colorado to Michigan. Hotel staff was not friendly at all. Grumbled when we asked to get our rooms together and ignored our request. Hallways were dirty and smelled like food and stale smoke. Rooms were a bit cleaner. If this hotel was checked by a inspector it would defiantly not be up to code-Multiple broken safety signs, locks, carpet tears, ect. Beds were comfortable. Working tv and wi-fi. Breakfast was your standard continental. I would not stay here again and would not recommend to a friend or family member.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdodde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    17
    16
    20
See reviews for
19
20
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is in the process of renovation. The public corridors and most rooms have been freshly painted and carpets are in good condition. Our room was clean, the bath tub/shower had a safety bar and the faucet was easy on/off and readily adjustable. The room size was adequate with a queen size bed, easy chair, desk with chair, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker with daily coffee. The included breakfast bar offered tcold cereals, pastries, biscuits and gravy, waffles and juice. The lobby/office center was very small, but did have some cushion chairs
.There are several restaurants in the immediate area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLAiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thousand oaks
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very quiet Air Conditioner!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We could not even hear it when it was on. Staff was great. ADA room was AOK. Beds very comfortable. Staff recommend local diner " Newton Diner". Full of gray and whit haired people. totally inexpensive. !0 ounce top sirloin steak, cut with a fork. $10

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here after driving all night , while the outside dsnt look nice. Once inside the room I was surprised, very accommodating and I slept great. Breakfast was free and it was good. The pool was great I was the only in it but it was peaceful

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel2597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Outside and common areas are worn down. No elevator. Outer entry doors in the back don't lock and the one at the far end of the building is inaccessible from the outside. The hallway at the end of the second floor had old broken air conditioners and refrigerators stacked up against the wall.

The room was stale and musty smelling. Four lamps in the room, two didn't have light bulbs in them, three were unplugged. The desk chair was broken. Toilet flushed once, then the handle wouldn't engage.I refused to lift the lid or call the front desk at 11:00 pm. I left the surprise for the maintenance department (if they have one).

Room Tip: Find a room at another hotel. There are three other hotels nearby. Altoona is 20 minutes away, Des M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAV1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newton hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I thought this was going to be a horrible hotel after I read the reviews. It wasn't nearly as bad as the reviewers said it was. Granted, the outside looks pretty bad, as well as the hallways in the common areas. But once you get into your room you will be pleasantly surprised. The rooms are large and very clean and beds are comfortable. The free breakfast was very good as well. I would recommend this place if you are on a budget and need a place to crash for the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank on2glory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

we stayed here on our way to denver .. rooms were very nice and clean .. smells fresh friendly staff and it was one the best hotel we stayed on our trip .. breakfast was more then we expected they had nice indoor pool we will stay here again on our way back home

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#3 of 8 in Newton
259 reviews
4.1 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
1.7 mi away
Best Western Holiday Manor Newton
8.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Newton

Property: Quality Inn Newton
Address: 1700 W 19th St S, Interstate 80 and Highway 14, Newton, IA 50208-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Newton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing