We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too quality inn”
Review of Quality Inn Newton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn Newton
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Newton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not too quality inn”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This was by far the worst place I have ever stayed at!!! I was on a road trip so I stopped forthe night. When I checked in around 11 there was one girl who was grunting, doubled over, scratching herself and pacing the room. That made me super anxious! Then when we walked down to our room the halls reeked of smoke and mold. When we got in our room the smell was better. Our pillows were maybe a foot long and our comforter had a cigarette burn in it. Then next morning I got up and left right away and the one girl who was itching was just passed out in the middle of the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurend419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    17
    16
    20
See reviews for
19
20
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

nothing special, nice hotel. Location right off interstate, so easy to find. Did not check out the pool so I cannot rate that. Overall, it was a good experience. We did have problems with the showers as they were very touchy....either burn you or freeze you out.... Check in was very easy, and check out too. Newton being a small town, had good eats right around the hotel so that was not an issue at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My father and I planned a trip to the Iowa Grand Motorcycle Rally in Newton, IA and reserved a room at this hotel for Thursday (5/30/13) night through Saturday (6/01/13) night and planned to check-out Sunday (6/02/13) morning. Tuesday (5/28/2013) my father was involved in a serious motorcycle accident. He was riding his bike and a man in his younger 20's ran a stop sign and T-Boned my father. He was thrown over 20 feet. He lives in Iowa and was not wearing a helmet, as there are currently no helmet laws in Iowa. He broke his right ankle and left wrist in multiple spots. He fractured a rib on his left side and also broke every bone in his face and also fractured his skull. He has been in the ICU since it happened and has been sedated for more than two days. He has had three surgeries and will need more in the upcoming days. When I called the hotel to cancel his reservation due to the situation, a guy with an accent of that from India, told me they will not cancel the reservation due to being past the cancellation period. I told them this is ridiculous and threatened to have the charges cancelled when they go through his credit card company. I demanded to speak to a manager only to find out he will not be there until the morning. I hung up due to being overly frustrated. I called the next morning and the same schmuck answered. I was told the manager had already left for the day. In my opinion and every other breathing being's opinion, this absolutely not the way to do business. I would rather sleep on a curb with a rock as a pillow than to book at this hotel. I will be contacting the BBB and letting them know what happened

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newton hotels

Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
297 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I stay in hotels 250+ nights per year and this hotel rates pretty high in my book. From the fast and efficient check in to the comfortable beds, this hotel has it all. I'm glad to number this hotel in the few I will make my regular stops.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckMosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

There was a coupon in the local travel magazine found at gas stations and we were delighted with the super service by the desk clerk. She was so helpful and even helped bring in our luggage. She helped get us the best rate with the coupon and our AAA card. She went out of her way.

Our room was large and perfect. We have stayed here before and really feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith River
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is an area with many terrible motels. We looked at them all before settling on the Quality Inn. Ecolodge, Days Inn, America's Value all were very depressing, under construction, or just plain awful. It was the end of a long driving day, so we were forced to stop. The Quality Inn was the least offensive. The room was large, TV good, frig. Windows open onto highway. Room smelled of mold and mildew. Hallways were also unpleasant. They should skip the breakfast. Beds were good and linens clean.

Room Tip: Pick another town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddwildbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Convenient location to the Speedway. Room was updated not really $130.00 update but average. Trying to get multiple suitcases up the stairs was a workout. Abandoned building on one side. Walked to restaurants and a sports bar which was really nice. I will say I requested an early check in and both my rooms were ready before noon, easy check in.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beller1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#3 of 8 in Newton
259 reviews
4.1 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
1.7 mi away
Best Western Holiday Manor Newton
8.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Newton

Property: Quality Inn Newton
Address: 1700 W 19th St S, Interstate 80 and Highway 14, Newton, IA 50208-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Newton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing