We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUN RUN RUN AWAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“RUN RUN RUN AWAY”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

MOLD OLD and RUN DOWN at 4 am I couldn't stand the smell any longer I went and slept in my Motor-coach, take it from someone that has to stay in hotels for a living PASS THIS ONE BY
WATCH what the front desk charges your card before you sign, He wanted to charge me $298 for 2 night stay LOL i think he got it mixed up with a year lease price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stagecoach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    4
    6
    27
See reviews for
19
7
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This has got to be the absolute worst motel I have ever been at in my whole life. Filthy, smelly, BLACK MOLD on the bathroom ceiling, dead bugs on the floor. Even the paper card/key holder looked like it was 10 years old. THIS PLACE IS GROSSER THAN GROSS. STAY CLEAR!! Hot tub was drained and smelled like old socks, Restaurant has been closed for years, but on the phone they lied and told us it was open! I could go on and on.... just save yourself now and STAY AWAY!!
We had a "poolside" room, it smelled like a basement that had been sealed shut for years and never cleaned.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newton hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Our family stayed one night here during the summer and were more than satisfied with everything. The room was large and comfortable, the pool is massive and fun and the other amenities were nice. Breakfast was somewhat lacking in substance and nutrition (this isn't exclusive to this hotel by any means) but all else was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pol area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

What is grosser than gross ~ America's Best Value Inn in Newton, IA.

I don't even know where to start. The pee and crap fragrance when you first unlock your room or the total lack of security.

You can't even open a window to air the putrid urine smell out of your room. Had a first floor room and the exterior door opens to a back door parking lot with no lock on it. Your inner door does have a lock but no chain. Not that the chain would deter anyone but at least you might feel a bit more secure.

Did I mention the Urine smell? The room smells worse than a boys locker room where everyone had peed on the floor. We seriously over payed at $72 booking with Hotels.com. This room isn't worth $9 a night.

If I wouldn't have been so tired after arriving after dark I would have ran away in terror and lost one night fee. In fact I regret not doing that.

By the way the food is disgusting. We choose not to eat it in fear of some ungodly disease.

If you stay here - wear your shoes in the room, stick a clothes pin on your nose and take a bath in Clorox after you leave.
A bottle of Clorox in each room is needed. I can't believe anyone would give this run down urine soaked hotel a great review?

By the way the wireless internet did not work in the rooms - but thats okay I needed to smell some fresh air while I went to the lobby.

The only positive was the cheery receptionist who checked us in. I hope she is highly paid to work there - she should be!~

Room Tip: STay in a differet hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelducks59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Of the last 25 hotel rooms that we have stayed at, this is by far the best value! Friendly serice upon arrival. Rooms that are extremely clean, large and 95% renovated. New bed, carpeting, furniture, lighting, sinks, walls, ceilings (except in bathroom). Excellent breakfast selection in a nice setting with lots of seating. More of a resort than a motel. Quiet location with good ventilation and HVAC system. Excellent very large and warm swimming pool that is suitable for laps. Will return any time that we are passing thru Newton Iowa.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We had 19 of us that went to the Nationwide race. On Friday it rained and they accomadated us very well. (from grilling out to setting up tables for food and drinks to playing washers inside along with music) It was nice to have a pool and hot tub. From meeting him upon check-in He called you by name all weekend. Over all, our whole grup has NO COMPLAINTS!!!!!! SEE YOU NEXT YEAR. Your Wisconsin and Minnesota FRIENDS!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nascartaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#3 of 8 in Newton
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton
1.7 mi away
Best Western Holiday Manor Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
3.8 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
8.9 mi away
Colfax Inn
Colfax Inn
#2 of 2 in Colfax
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 2000 W 18th St S, Newton, IA 50208-5607 (Formerly Newton Inn Hotel and Banquet Facility)
Location: United States > Iowa > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Newton, conveniently located off of I-80 Exit 164. We are near Iowa Speedway, a NASCAR-style banked oval track. Other nearby attractions include Capitol Theater, Newton Arboretum and Botanical, Prairie Meadows Racetrack and Casino, Buena Vista University, and Neal Smith National Wildlife Refuge. Local restaurants include Senor Tequila, Subway, and Montana Mike's Steakhouse. We strive to make our pet friendly Americas Best Value Inn your hotel of choice when visiting the Newton area. Your comfort is the number one priority of our attentive 24-hour front desk staff. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast served from 6am-9am. Free coffee is available in our lobby 24-hours-day. Take advantage of our three meeting facilities for your next group event. Enjoy our game room. Appreciate the convenience of free wireless high-speed Internet access available in our guestrooms and lobby. Rest in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including cable TV with over 90 channels, coffeemaker, hairdryer, desk, and free local calls. Children age 14 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. At Americas Best Value Inn Newton, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Newton
And Banquet Facility Newton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing