We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually, only got to the Maytag store.....”
Review of Maytag Dairy Farm

Maytag Dairy Farm
Ranked #4 of 10 things to do in Newton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This farm is famous for its Maytag Blue cheese.
Huxley, Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Actually, only got to the Maytag store.....”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a gem in Iowa. It's small, extremely clean, very nice personnel and of course, the blue cheese. They sell other types, but what can one say about Maytag Blue Cheese, other than YUM! It's a nice stop in a quaint town.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank leslee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
687 reviews
248 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Well worth the stop if you are a foodie!”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Linda our tour guide was great. Very informative, fun and free. We got to see the cheese wrapping in action and had some great samples too. The blue is the only one still made on site, but you can sample some of their other products that are made elsewhere. A word to the wise though, stop at the building before the farm as gps does not recognize the location.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JGallagher28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ludlow, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous cheese”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Widely known for their blue cheese, they also sell a variety of delicious cheeses made from milk produced on nearby dairy farms. Interesting video, tour, and yummy tastings.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank madambear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“should visit while here”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

NIce to visit while here; get approximatlely 20 minute video and 10 minute tour and can sample cheese if you would like-if you like blue cheese this is for you as they make it here; if you are looking for other cheeses though ; they ship them in.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
266 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“So glad we stopped!”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I had always thought that Maytag Blue came from a large, industrial farm and operation. Not so! We stopped by the tasting room, where we got multiple samples of cheese from women who had worked for the company for 12 and 33 years, respectively. We watched a video about the cheesemaking - which occurred right across the field - and the history of Maytag Blue, and then got to watch the cheese wrappers at work. The entire cheesemaking process is still done by hand, scraping the rind off and all, and there is a special origami fold that they use to wrap each wedge. It was well worth the visit, even if we couldn't take advantage of the special at-dairy pricing since we had another eight days in our trip!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank helsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maytag Dairy Farm also viewed

 

Been to Maytag Dairy Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing