We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right by I-80” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Certificate of Excellence
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Right by I-80”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

I want to say this is a great place to stay. They have great customer service. When you check in they give you a coupon for a 2 for 1 drink in thier bar. They offer fresh Choc. Chip cookies in the evening. They offer a free paper m-f. Their breakfast consisted of these items...Fresh hard boiled eggs, Yogurt, milk, bagels, cereal, toast, different kinds of donuts & danish, muffins, tropical fruit, sausage, biscuits & gravy scrambled eggs, waffles, coffee, hot choc., orange juice, and apple juice. The coffee is avl. at all times. There is a pool, and an exercise room.

I would stay here again. There is a McDonalds, a gas station & a chicken place right next to the hotel. This is very close to the Iowa Speedway.

Room Tip: We were in a King room. I think it was in room 227. But can't remember for sure. I don't k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyJopipsqeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    26
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
63
16
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stay in Newton, Iowa a couple of times each year and normally stay at the Holiday Inn Express but now there is a new hotel right off I-80, the AmericInn Lodge and Suites. The staff is very friendly, everyone we met. The hotel is new, the room was very clean and large. We had the two room King whirlpool suite and it was perfect. The pool is large and the spa/whirlpool by the pool fits about a dozen people. There is a bathroom with shower in the pool/exercise area.

There is an included breakfast buffet from 6am to 10am but because it was Thanksgiving and we were going to eat all day we chose to skip breakfast but it looked above average for a free hotel breakfast. There is even a small bar in the hotel if you want an area to hang out.

Of course the free wi-fi is always a plus.

The only con of the hotel is that the pillows were way to soft for our taste.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estes k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ludlow, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Our extended family rented four rooms and everyone was very pleased with the clean, quiet, spacious accommodations. Staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby was a lovely place to gather and breakfast was great....a variety of items, including hot dishes and waffles. We enjoyed the warm and pleasant pool area, too.

Room Tip: The two room suites are very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madambear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were upgraded to a King Master Spa room because the hotel was full. The room was large and had a spa tub in one corner as well as fireplace. The furnishings were new and there were no stains or other evidence of wear. The room was clean. The bathroom was modest sized, but there was a second sink and mirror outside the bath, which made morning prep time more efficient for the three of us. The shower was adequate. he king bed was comfortable and the linens were good. The sofa bed was also comfortable. There was a refrigerator, but no mini bar. The room was exceptionally quiet. Buffet breakfast was nothing special, but adequate. We had misplaced a bag and staff were very accommodating, offering us a replacement toiletries including toothbrush, toothpaste and deodorant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I were traveling back home on a work trip and stopped at this hotel which was right off the interstate. It looked very nice on the outside which is the reason why we stopped here. As we walked into the lobby we were impressed with how nice and clean it looked. The staff were very nice and we got an awesome room with a jacuzzi. The room was amazing. We felt so at home and comfortable. The bar/lounge was really great. The whole stay was relaxing. It was by far the best hotel my husband and I have ever stayed. We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibson City, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

You will find none better!!! I've been at the ornate Hilton's and those ones you can't wait to get out of.......AmericInn of Newton,Iowa is superior to all. You don't need to go on a vacation...AmericInn is a vacation!!! If I could sell my house...I would live here.

Room Tip: Safe....Quiet....Clean....No Problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2010

We couldn't have been more pleased with how well we were treated at the AmericInn. We had just survived a bad car accident and had no where to go. With the truck totalled and no family near, Laura at the AmericInn went above and beyond and took great care of us and it warmed our hearts. We desperately needed a shower to clean off the residiual shards of glass and some rest, the room was more than accommadating. Very thankful for Laura and Tanya here at the AmericInn and the nurses, paramedics and police officers here in Newton, Iowa. Definitely a Christmas miracle. Thank the Lord!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jformobutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.2 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#3 of 8 in Newton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell
14.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
4.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
Address: 4401 S 22nd Ave E, Newton, IA 50208-8260
Location: United States > Iowa > Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing