We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best known Hotel in Muscatine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Muscatine Iowa
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Muscatine
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Built at the peak of the commerce boom in Muscatine, Iowa, the Holiday Inn is a bit dated. It has not been updated much, but it was a good quality building to start with, and has been fairly well maintained. The service staff does a good job, and the rooms are above average in cleanliness. The rates are good for the area. The grounds behind the hotel a quiet, green, and there is an adjacent pond with a variety of waterfowl that makes the setting idyllic. Plenty of free parking, but you may have to carry your luggage a ways to your room. Probably the most convenient location in Muscatine to access about anything you came for.

My only complaint was noise. I am not sure how rooms are assigned, but if it is important to you to have a quiet room to sleep or work, particularly on the weekends, you better ask the desk to give you the most remote room they have open. This is a "Hollidome" type concept hotel with a central commons area with a pool. The room next to ours had a "party hardy" group of about 10 people from maybe age 5 to age 30, and they ran about and generated a cacophony until well after 1:00 a.m. At that point, a complaint from the party across the hall from them brought mangement who requested they quiet down. The door then closed, but the party inside the room continued, albeit, at a somewhat less disturbing, but still quite audible level. I am not certain if the hotel has any limits on how many people are allowed to occupy a room.

The hotel bragged about the high speed internet service. The wireless adapter was actually in my room, but after several frustrating attempts to download a small file, I gave up. It was the worst internet service in any hotel in a long time. I tried the commons area and it was worse there. Constantly disconnecting and re-connecting me.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR_DUBYA_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nsorgen, Manager at Hotel Muscatine Iowa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and saying such nice things about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 73 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2010

It had been several years since we had stayed at the Muscatine Holiday Inn due to tiredness. however after seeing another hotel slide into tiredness, I tried the HI again as I visited my Mom for what would turn out to be for the last time. The HI had been freshened up nicely. New linens, towels along with Refrig and Microwave in rooms. As a tall guy, the shower head and curved shower rod served me well. th.e staff is friendly and we will stay there again during my 40th High School reunion this month.
The hotel is due for a more extensive renovation according to the staff. Then maybe they'll get the HI Sign. Best Wishes for an exciting upgrade, HI Muscatine!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billcrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

I go to Muscatine probably once every six weeks from Michigan to visit my mother. She is in an assisted living facility. I have tried a good many hotels there, as you might imagine. Even though the Holiday Inn doesn't have a free breakfast, the excellent staff and amenities are so fine that I always end up back there. The dining room food is always perfectly prepared, and to take the sting out of your first breakfast (or other meal) there, they give you a $3 coupon to apply to your bill.

Their maintenance staff is on duty until very late at night and they are determined that everything meet your standards.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reader68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

I needed a last minute place to stay so I called and talked to a lady by the name of Amanda and she got me in and when I checked in she was so friendly and made me feel like I was at home. My room was great and when I needed anything they brought it right away. When I checked out the next morning the man at the front desk was so pleasent and he said he hoped I came back again. I will recommend to my friends and come back for sure. Thanks for a great expierence

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fillup23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

Not bad, great location as we were in town to visit some people. Everything you need is nearby and its a great hotel for children

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank maintain242001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2006

We were in Muscatine for a family reunion. The house the reunion was at was not big enough for all the family members to stay. I began to search for hotels in the area that would be pet friendly as we have a Sheltie who is gereatric! We loved the Holiday Inn! Brian who met me at the registration desk was most helpful! We had one room with two queen beds, a frig, internet access, coffee maker, a television, and all the amenities were great! The pool was clean, the hot tub hot, and there was a bar and food place as well. The room for us had TWO doors, one for us and one directly to the outside to a pet area for our pet! It was great! The AC was not controled from our room but the room was and remained cool. I lost a diamond earring down the sink, and when I called the front desk, there was a plummer within 5 minutes to check it out! There was not an internet box on the desk, and when I called I had a young man to help us within 5 minutes. He brought the box up and stayed until he was sure I was connected I was so impressed with this place. It was obvious that they had remodeled within the past two years and it was well done. I also noticed that everytime I said "thank you" to anyone about any thing they did for us, the standard reply for us was:"My pleasure". When we return to see family we will certainly stay here again. The prices were reasonable and the place was great all the way around. The only negative thing about it was when my husband and I scanned the TV on the first night, we happened upon a Porn movie that was on TV. The next day, it was gone but I was offended that we needed to even witness it. I think they should be more careful to clear the previous orders from customers before new ones reside in the rooms.
Barb in Arizona

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barb in AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2005

While Muscatine is not a hot tourist destination, this hotel is in need of updating. The website stated this hotel was updated in 2003, but it would seem that the rooms were not included in this update.
Rooms are a decent size, but old and worn. While the room was clean, the old beds and furniture made it seem dirty. With some updating and replacing of beds etc this could be a nice place.
There is a lounge and restaurant located in the hotel which is a nice plus. The pool was good sized and clean.
Until changes are made there are newer and cheaper places in Muscatine that would be worth checking out.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank coachdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Muscatine Iowa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2015

Thank you for writing about your experience on your last visit. We wish to continually serve you our patrons well. We are terribly sorry your last visit with us was not up to your standards we are in the processes of renovating our hotel to make it once again to jewel of Muscatine, Iowa. Please let me assure you that these issues are resolved and we sincerely hope to see you on your next visit to the area. Our patrons are the utmost import to us and their experiences we want to be excellent. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muscatine
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Muscatine
0.3 mi away
Best Western Pearl City Inn
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Muscatine
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Muscatine
Hampton Inn Muscatine
#2 of 7 in Muscatine
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Muscatine
Super 8 Muscatine
#5 of 7 in Muscatine
123 reviews
20.8 mi away
Columbus Motel Columbus Junction
Columbus Motel Columbus Junction
#1 of 1 in Columbus Junction
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muscatine Iowa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muscatine Iowa

Address: 2915 N Highway 61, Muscatine, IA 52761-5809 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Muscatine)
Location: United States > Iowa > Muscatine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Muscatine
Price Range: $56 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Muscatine Iowa 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers on the north side of Muscatine, IA just three miles from the Mississippi riverfront. The Iowa hotel also is a short drive to Bridgestone Bandag, AllSteel, HNI and the Muscatine Soccer Complex. Other attractions in the Muscatine area include Wild Cat Den State Park, Muscatine Art Center (includes Musser Mansion and the Stanley Gallery), Weed Mansion, and Alexander G. Clark House. Two historic districts listed on the National Register of Historic Places (Downtown and West Hill). Guests of this Muscatine hotel can enjoy the free continental breakfast, indoor heated pool and whirlpool along with the 24-hour fitness center. All rooms feature coffee makers, microwave, refrigerator, irons and ironing boards, well lit desk areas and premium TV channels. Business travelers will welcome additional conveniences featuring the 24-hour business center with fax and copy service. The next time your travels bring you to Muscatine, IA, the Clarion Hotel would be delighted to accommodate your lodging needs. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Muscatine Iowa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Muscatine
Muscatine Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing