We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Look Elsewhere” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Muscatine Iowa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Muscatine Iowa
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Muscatine
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Look Elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights for a family gathering. This is an old hotel in need of some TLC. The shower head in my room was rusted and the water first came out yellow. The sink drain was also rusted. The wallpaper is peeling. The sheets were clean and I think for the most part the housekeeping staff does what they can; however they did not clean the bathroom floors during our entire stay. The price is cheap but you get what you pay for. If I were you, I would look into the newer hotels nearby. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerreWheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichole S, Director of Sales at Hotel Muscatine Iowa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for staying with Clarion Hotel Muscatine. We are working on property updates all the time. We hope you would try us again in the future once we have more updates done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    8
    10
    24
See reviews for
24
9
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed on 8-8-12. It was a nice price for a good size king room. I judge a hotel by the quality of its bed linens and this place did well on that count. Nice sheets and duvet, lots of pillows. It was clean but a little old and outdated. The staff was nice. The swimming pool isn't big enough to be useful for anything other than little kids splashing each other. The bar was ok for a quick drink and the waitress was nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichole S, Director of Sales at Hotel Muscatine Iowa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for staying with Clarion Hotel Muscatine. We are glad you enjoyed the bed and bedding. We are working on updating our property all time. We really work hard to keep the property clean and on staff well trained and friendly. Hope you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here during the wedding weekend of a member of our family. We had about 25 family members stay. Many of us had poolside rooms. We were able to sit around tables and visit all day long. The staff were so helpful. Everything we asked for they set up for us. The AC was fixed. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The TVs in our rooms were new. The Internet was free and fast. I will definitely gather here again when we want to bring our family together to relax and get away for a reasonable price. The continental breakfast was ok, but we would have liked a full breakfast meal option as well. It would have been nice to have the restaurant open for lunch and dinner, but we just ran out and got our food somewhere else. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowa_oma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine1, General Manager at Hotel Muscatine Iowa, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Our restaurant is closed for lunch and dinner but we have a full catering menu that you and your family could enjoy, just contact our Sales Department. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Hills, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for CSK soccer and the AC was not working! It had not been working for several days and they did not warn incoming visitors of the problem so they could make alternate plans. When asked why they didn't they said they did, but I asked several other college coaches who were staying there and none had been forewarned. When asking at front desk about heat they said we could go to Walmart and buy a fan for our room. They said a part was on order but they didn't have it yet. In day of overnight air shipping not sure why the part was not in? No offer was made for a reduced rate for visitor inconvenience. Hotel would have been 3-stars with AC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine1, General Manager at Hotel Muscatine Iowa, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
I would like to apogize to you for the air not working during your stay. We had some severe issues with the HVAC unit and it broke down during the hottest part of the summer. I do know that the front desk staff had tried to contact several guest to let them know ahead of time, but unfortunately not all guest were able to be contacted. Again I'm sorry for the Inconvenience, we are in the process of installing a new unit so I hope you will try us again during your next visit to Muscatine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Muscatine hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

dont even think about it!!! Everything about this hotel was nasty especially there so called dirty disgusting bar/resturant! IOnly decent thing i can say about this hotel is the beds are comfortable, but not a good enough reason to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dusty265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Muscatine Iowa, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you thought our beds were comfortable. Please accept my apology on the cleanliness of our bar, our staff tries to make sure everything is clean for all of our guest daily but on occasion we do miss things. Again, thank you for your comments as we use them to better our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

It appears this hotel was recently redecorated. We stayed there for one night and we were very happy with everything. The room was clean and service was great. We had a large group with us and thought it would be nice to sit around the very nice indoor pool and watch the kids swim. When we asked if it was possible to get a table and approx 12 chairs, they didn't hesitate. They had us set up in no time! There is also a very nice lounge with a pool tabel and dart board which was nice for the adults. The free continental breakfast is served in a very comfortable setting with windows looking over the grassy area and pond. Besides the normal "continental" breakfast items, they also had scrambled eggs and sausage. Very friendly and accomodating staff and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiTownJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hotel Muscatine Iowa, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay at the Clarion Hotel Muscatine. We hope that you return and enjoy it again. Thank you for the nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Great people good facilities great location .......,......,, We will stay there again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qwerty1oo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nsorgen, General Manager at Hotel Muscatine Iowa, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muscatine
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pearl City Inn
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Muscatine
Hampton Inn Muscatine
#2 of 7 in Muscatine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Muscatine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Muscatine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
23.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Davenport
24.0 mi away
Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muscatine Iowa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muscatine Iowa

Property: Hotel Muscatine Iowa
Address: 2915 N Highway 61, Muscatine, IA 52761-5809 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Muscatine)
Location: United States > Iowa > Muscatine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Muscatine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Muscatine Iowa 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers on the north side of Muscatine, IA just three miles from the Mississippi riverfront. The Iowa hotel also is a short drive to Bridgestone Bandag, AllSteel, HNI and the Muscatine Soccer Complex. Other attractions in the Muscatine area include Wild Cat Den State Park, Muscatine Art Center (includes Musser Mansion and the Stanley Gallery), Weed Mansion, and Alexander G. Clark House. Two historic districts listed on the National Register of Historic Places (Downtown and West Hill). Guests of this Muscatine hotel can enjoy the free continental breakfast, indoor heated pool and whirlpool along with the 24-hour fitness center. All rooms feature coffee makers, microwave, refrigerator, irons and ironing boards, well lit desk areas and premium TV channels. Business travelers will welcome additional conveniences featuring the 24-hour business center with fax and copy service. The next time your travels bring you to Muscatine, IA, the Clarion Hotel would be delighted to accommodate your lodging needs. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Muscatine Iowa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Muscatine
Muscatine Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing