We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch is awesome too!”
Review of Lincoln Cafe - CLOSED

Lincoln Cafe
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lunch is awesome too!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Went here with my parents and son (4) on the weekend. Everything we had was great. We got a ham sandwich special, the burgers are the best in Iowa (forget Shorts in Iowa City!), and tried the olive cake and Kit kat bar special dessert. YUM! Still dreaming about it...SO reasonable at lunch time. Can get the expertise of the chef and charming atmosphere without paying more at dinner!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank thenewmrsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    11
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
474 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Seldom get in!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Though I had a nice enough meal, getting in is a struggle, a small place. Long waits each time I've tried to eat lunch here, and only a few times did I have time to wait. And it is a bit loud for my tastes. I know lots of people are fans, but I probably won't make an effort to go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GailCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lunch delight”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Went to this small town with plan to visit the recommended Lincoln Cafe. We were not disappointed. Food was great, service was okay, but they did have a full house so could not expect any more. Wonderful soup.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank agnewre2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience In Mt Vernon”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Really enjoyed the experience and fine dining. They provide you with a Standard Menu but tell you they have specials for the day. They provide that to your verbally and don't give you a menu to select from. They place the items and prices somewhere on the wall by the door and some other location. Didn't ask what the prices where for the specials. Was a little shocked to find that I paid $31.00 for half a Pheasant and $15.00 for a Shrimp Appetizer. Not complaining, I should have looked or asked the waitress. Folks were really friendly but we missed going to the Wine Bar for the Music experience. We'll go back but will look for the Board with the Daily Specials :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scooter55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious cafe chow!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We read about Lincoln Cafe 5 years ago in a Chicago newspaper and we've always wanted to try it out. After dropping off my son at college, we had had lunch there. We split the small pear and blue cheese salad for an appetizer, which was delicious. Our main entree was Indian spiced fried perch sandwiches with homemade buns and a cucumber relish. It was outstanding! I grew up on lake perch, and this was definitely very good perch. The sandwich was over stuffed with perch. Yum!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danageld R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing