We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Property”
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Your choices are very limited in Mount Vernon and the only chain-ran property in town. The property is reasonably new and well kept, bigger rooms, beds and bathroom good, breakfast fine, wireless only in the lobby with a ethernet cord in the room, front desk service was ok, close to Cornell or downtown and overall clean made for a pleasant stay. Also a Hardees, DQ and Subway short walk from motel.

As a future Cornell parent, I am sure I will be back a few times over the next few years and glad i wont have to be staying in Cedar Rapids to do so, not that Cedar Rapids is bad, just the distance. Definitely ask for the Cornell discount if travels there involve the school business it did save a few bucks.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VespaRider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
9
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
o_lynne
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

GREAT DEAL FOR CORNELL PARENTS.......thanks for being there.....multiple stays all good.......ask for cornell discount.....thanks again

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o_lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We traveled across the midwest in July 2009 and this hotel was by far the best hotel we stayed at. In fact, it is one of the best I've stayed in regardless of price.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jxdxd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

This appears to be a very new motel that is clean and functional -- pretty much what you expect out of this chain. You pay less than the more upscale versions of this concept (Holiday Inn Express, Comfort Inn, etc.), and you get a bit less. It's also just far enough off the highway that it was quiet, too. Everything was clean; everything worked; the breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fireballhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2007

I've stayed in Sleep Inns before, and this is a newer hotel, so I expected a clean, decent place to stay. It was clean, and the staff was courteous. We had one major issue, though...

My wife and I have three children, and I booked a room with a King bed, a sleeper sofa (and a rollaway) so that I'd have enough places to sleep. We arrived at 9:30pm on Saturday night, just in time to put the little ones to bed. When we pulled out the sleeper sofa, there was NO MATTRESS!

I immediately went to the front desk for resolution. The manager said, "Oh, you got THAT room". Nice.

The hotel was booked, so he couldn't move us to another room that night (but the next night we were moved to a different room). We did the best we could by having one kid sleep on the couch, one on the rollaway and one in our bed.

The pool was nice enough and the place was clean, but, of course, the mattress issue was huge. If there is a reservation for 5 people, they should ensure that there is room for 5 people to sleep.

  • Liked — It was Clean
  • Disliked — There was no mattress on the Sofa Bed.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank omahaH2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

I stayed at this hotel while traveling across country. I wanted to walk the campus of my alma mater, Cornell College even though it was July. Overall, we had a wonderful stay. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable (especially after a long day of travel), and the next
morning, breakfast was well-stocked and more than adequate. From
our check-in to check-out, the hotel staff was very helpful, polite and knowledgeable. If I am in Mount Vernon again, I will definately stay at the Sleep Inn.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainyben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
12.0 mi away
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
#1 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
224 reviews
10.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Marion/Cedar Rapids
13.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
60 reviews
13.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
13.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon
Address: 310 Virgil Ave, Mount Vernon, IA 52314-9569
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing