We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the family birthday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honey Creek Resort State Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Honey Creek Resort State Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Indianola, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for the family birthday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We've been to Honey Creek for the last two years during late March to celebrate family birthdays. The 4 bedroom cabin comfortably fit 7 adults, 1 child, and 2 dogs, and could have handled more. We loved the cabin and liked that we didn't have to bring any flatware, plates, etc. The kiddo loved the pool and the resort had enough room for us to get out and play. Trails were great and easy to find. We capped off the weekend with the delicious Sunday buffet. We can'wait to do it again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sarag210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    99
    41
    22
    7
See reviews for
143
44
5
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I were hired to professionally photograph and produce pictures at their "Daddy/Daughter" Dance. We were staying overnight as part of our compensation package, dinner and breakfast included. This was our 2nd year to mix business with a mini-vacation at this wonderful resort. The facilities has an indoor water park, a friendly, helpful front desk staff and an out of this world restaurant. It is managed by Todd Bordenaro, who looks after customers and employees with great care.
Our room was spacious, with good water pressure for showering and the view overlooking Rathbun Lake was magnificent. People come to get away from the stressors of the world and also to celebrate special events, like a wedding or convention. Just thinking about our wonderful time and how well we were treated inspires us to suggest to our family to book our next reunion there. We highly recommend Honey Creek Resort for business or pleasure!

Room Tip: Ask about a room with a view of the lake, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My daughter loves this place, she calls it the Nemo pool because of one of the toys in the kid pool. The rooms are exceptional, very nice. They have many things to do with the resort. The food is average at the restaurant that is just a little pricey.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Coachjwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Beautiful, friendly staff, amazing views and lots of space! This was our first stay at the resort and we did stay with our two children. The kids loved the water park, It was not too big, more things for the kids to do but we enjoyed the Jacuzzi. Rooms were very spacious, clean and beautiful. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and had the breakfast buffet in the morning. Nothing bad to say about the food, everything we had was MOUTH WATERING! It snowed the night we stayed (3 or so inches) and the hotel staff dug our car out of the snow! Amazing views, I would love to stay when it is Spring or early Summer.

Room Tip: All of the rooms that I saw were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMiller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We had heard about Honey Creek but had never gone. We stayed in a cottage with our two kids and had a ball! It had everything you would need and was the perfect size. Very modern! The food at the in-house restaurant was wonderful. Stay for Sunday brunch if you can! We will be back in the summer for sure!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Muchtoodutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchellville, Ia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and reserved a room at Honey Creek Resort as I was participating as a vendor at a Ladies' night event. We arrived and checked in. As per instructions, we began setting up for the event at 5:00. Then was the event and then we had to take down displays. So at 10:00 pm we headed for food. The restaurant was closed so we headed to the bar where we were told no food available and to try vending machines by the pool for some chips. Pool locked up too! This resort was packed for the special event! No food? In the middle of nowhere. A helpful person at the front desk called to see if a bar three miles away still had food. They did so we ended up there. The resort had pushed staying there, but obviously didn't care to feed their guests! Very disappointing!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kriskain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Recently stayed at the Honey Creek Resort State Park. It is amazing! In a very rural setting and stunning, plus has everything you need on site. No reason to leave during your visit. The lodge itself is breath taking and set on beautiful Lake Rathbun. We had a lower level double queen suite with a patio. Several family members were staying also, so the patios ground level made it great for family visiting. Off the beaten path, but well worth the trip!!! Didn't get to use the water park, spa, or game room, but it keep family members occuppied for hours!

Room Tip: Ground level lake side gives you view and outdoor access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chickietheville_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moravia
20.4 mi away
Country Cabins
Country Cabins
#1 of 3 in Chariton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
9.8 mi away
Motel 60 and Villa
Motel 60 and Villa
#2 of 3 in Centerville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
11.6 mi away
No photo provided
Indian Hills Inn
#1 of 1 in Albia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Super 8 Centerville
Super 8 Centerville
#1 of 3 in Centerville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Honey Creek Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Creek Resort State Park

Property: Honey Creek Resort State Park
Address: 12633, Moravia, IA 52571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Moravia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Moravia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honey Creek Resort State Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Honey Creek Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Creek Resort State Park Hotel Moravia
Honey Creek Resort State Park Iowa/Moravia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing