We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Son's wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Honey Creek Resort State Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Recently stayed at the Honey Creek Resort State Park. It is amazing! In a very rural setting and stunning, plus has everything you need on site. No reason to leave during your visit. The lodge itself is breath taking and set on beautiful Lake Rathbun. We had a lower level double queen suite with a patio. Several family members were staying also, so the patios ground level made it great for family visiting. Off the beaten path, but well worth the trip!!! Didn't get to use the water park, spa, or game room, but it keep family members occuppied for hours!

Room Tip: Ground level lake side gives you view and outdoor access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chickietheville_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 278 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

We went there for one reason: to enjoy the indoor water park. The pictures make the indoor water park seem a lot bigger and suitable for teenagers - however, teenagers probably would not have enough thrill. We went as a family and our young kids LOVED it. Perfect for that. I enjoyed the slide and lazy river too, but again, was there for the kids. Great hiking trails and fun resort. Would recommend. Restaurant prices were very reasonable and we all enjoyed our dinner and breakfasts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tj1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This beautiful resort is decorated in the prairie style--think Frank Lloyd Wright. It's only 5 yrs old & quite impressive. We had a dbl queen room. It was a little small, but quite manageable. Enough room for a 60 lb dog to fit with ease & not run us over. Room was clean, quiet & comfortable. Windows open. Temperature control actually worked as it was supposed to. Water pressure in shower was good. Bathroom had granite countertop. No frig or microwave. Lobby is lovely, with a soaring ceiling & georgeous fireplace. Views of the lake are beautiful. Patio around back of hotel is quite nice. Resort offers golf & water sports. Also small waterpark indoors. I really liked the hike/bike trails. Moravia is in the middle of nowhere, so resort is the only game in town. Restaurant is reasonably priced. Food was good for the most part. Service was a little slow, but nothing to get upset over. Entire staff is friendly & very helpful. They are quite knowledgeable about the architetcure & decor of the resort. I would definitely stay here again. We travel alot on business, & this was by far one of the nicer trips.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crazywabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

There were 22 of us staying in 3 villas here for a family reunion. The villas were "pretty" nice, but very expensive. Being a resort on a huge body of water, we were expecting a view, but the villas are just tiny houses on a cul-de-sac in the woods. Sitting outside was just a view of the cars parked and a grouping of dumpsters. Speaking of woods--the ticks were so awful, that we could not spend any time outside, unless we stood in the concrete driveway--seriously each person had over 10 on them over the course of three days.
The waterpark--is not a waterpark. It's like a kiddie pool and a slip and slide.
The pontoon rental for an afternoon was so ridiculously overpriced, that we just skipped it altogether.
The beach--is just a 30 foot stretch of filthy sand and muck.
The golf course--for how expensive a round was, it was a very boring course, and terrible grass(where there was any). They apparently don't know how to water it.
Unfriendly staff throughout the entire resort.
The absolute WORST part of this trip--the resort restaurant. The most terrible food, service, price, drinks I've ever had anywhere!
Bartenders don't know their drinks, waitresses have no clue what was going on. Had one waitress for 20 people. Manager was rude and unapologetic over the whole experience. The head chef-who we talked to-was the most arrogant [--] I've met. The food--either people didn't get their orders, food was terribly over or underdone, bad cuts of meat, inadequate choice of sides(and entrees)--what kid wants to eat brusselsprouts??

Overall, a terrible experience, I would never recommend, save your money. As an Iowan, I am very disappointed in what has become an embarrassment for the state and the taxpayers who have to keep it afloat.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kalephrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This place deserves kudos for effort. The concept of an Eco-friendly resort is a good one. The main lodge architecture is attractively soaring with beautiful natural views. The individual rooms are relatively comfortable and offer solid 3-4 star (3 1/2?) amenities. I was there for a business conference and thought the banquet food served us was certainly adequate if not inspired. The complimentary wifi however was rather slow; especially disappointing for future potential conference business. The prices however are reasonable for this stylish-looking Eco-resort. I think it's a good to very good choice for a business or family getaway into "Nature." I might even return for a personal getaway.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Dougananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Seriously, how do you screw up oatmeal? Undercooked and watery oats replaced the apple pancakes I had to send back because they were burnt on the outside and literally cold-batter raw on the inside. Dinner last night was a heaping portion of barely-edible and dry walleye. The restaurant is just plain bad -and unfortunately the only place to eat here.

Very few amenities here. No spa. Sad little gym. Attempts at room service just rang and rang until we gave up.

Rooms are nothing great, but clean. Really noisy HVAC system ran 24/7 and forced us to keep the windows closed -a shame, because some fresh country air would have been great. It really spoils the experience of having a lake view room.

The setting itself is probably the best scenery around, so I'll give it an extra star for that. If judged against the rest of the world, however, two stars would be very charitable.

Staff was inconsistent. Some very nice and helpful people -and a couple of disinterested and rude ones.

Overall, this place is what it is: low-average mid-market accommodations in a fairly boring part of the country.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globe-toddling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

As you drive the 2 mile entrance to Honey Creek Lodge you notice the golf course, the campsites, the native prairie, the walking/bike paths and the cabins scattered along the way. As you approach the hotel you are awestruck by the beauty of the building. The interior of the building is just as beautiful. The hotel is decorated in the prairie, Frank Lloyd Wright, organic style and is green! Soon after checking in I was tying flies! Jacob, a naturalist at the lodge, offered free classes in fly tying, kayaking and other fun activities for adults and children. We enjoyed the all you can eat barbeque buffet dinner at the restaurant that night. I would recommend that as the menu is expensive and the service was slow. We would have chosen to be seated on the large outdoor patio if the weather had cooperated. We were surprised to see friends from our hometown. They invited us to see their 4bdrm cabin which they rent every year for a family get together. Made us think that the cabin might be the way to go if we bring the grandchildren. We brought our bikes although there is a bike rental station. The bike path is cemented for part of the way. We hiked the trails which included educational stops along the way. We were chased by a horsefly, which I didn't mind, as I haven't seen them since I was a kid! We went to the Moravia Fall Festival intending to support the town and to get lunch. The festival was a disappointment although we had a nice big tenderloin sandwich served by the high school kids. Plan on most of your activities being on the State Park grounds. The indoor water park is fine for children. I would like to see an outdoor pool for the rest of us. Boat rental and fishing licenses were available. That area was staffed by a young adult who was very busy and distracted. There is a sandy beach with a small swimming area. Rathbun Lake is damned up Chariton River. I'd rather boat than swim.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a lake view. To be safe try the third floor. We were on the first floor. Kids abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iowajeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moravia
20.4 mi away
Country Cabins
Country Cabins
#1 of 3 in Chariton
32 reviews
9.8 mi away
Westbridge Inn & Suites
Westbridge Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Centerville
21 reviews
9.1 mi away
Super 8 Centerville
Super 8 Centerville
#3 of 3 in Centerville
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Indian Hills Inn
Indian Hills Inn
#1 of 1 in Albia
14 reviews
9.8 mi away
No photo provided
Junction Inn
#1 of 3 in Centerville
2 reviews
9.6 mi away
One of a Kind
One of a Kind
#2 of 2 in Centerville
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Creek Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Creek Resort State Park

Address: 12633, Moravia, IA 52571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Moravia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Moravia
Price Range: $127 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honey Creek Resort State Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Honey Creek Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Creek Resort State Park Hotel Moravia
Honey Creek Resort State Park Iowa/Moravia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing