We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Honey Creek Resort State Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Pros: Rooms are clean and fresh. First floor rooms have additional exit doors to parking lot or lake. Water at the water park is warmer than other parks. Water park staff isn’t as strict with slides and rope bridges as other parks – kids can actually have more fun. Free external activities are kid-friendly and are environmentally focused with knowledgeable staff.

Cons: Restaurant is expensive for so-so food. We sampled both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. The water park is VERY small for the size of the resort. There were only ~75 chairs and 5 lazy river double tubes and 4 single tubes - for the entre park population. Don’t expect to find a comfortable place to sit if arriving later on a weekend day. The lazy river should be called lazy creek as it elevates to less than two feet deep at one point and is extremely short. Since the water park is so small, it has a crowded feeling and there isn’t much room to actually swim… unless it is practically empty. (The web site makes it look bigger than it really is) Like most water parks, the air inside was on the cold side which could stand to be warmer in the winter. The water park closes at 9 PM which felt too early for my family. The floors sound thin and people walking above us are too easily heard – again, we were on the lower lever (or 1st) floor. Don’t stay on the first floor if you require a dark room to sleep. The patio lights shine brightly through the extra door window which is not 100% block-able.

Room Tip: Lave view rooms have nice outdoor access especially useful during spring/summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IABeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 278 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

With the recent Iowa Winter Snow Storm, it was fun to take the kids and grandkids to the indoor water Park Buccaneer Bay at Honey Creek Resort. This is the right size and depths for younger children/toddlers and those of us who are adults but never learned to swim. There are enough areas and tubes that even when busy at times, you can still have plenty of room to all swim/play by the interesting design/areas. It is very safety orientated and lifeguards were on duty. It is also enough fun for adults to splash around in, not room of lap swimming etc, but for FUN! The whirlpool was a 'hot spot' also on such a wintry day. It was nice the whole area did not overcome you with the smell of strong chlorine as some places do, taking the fun out of it. They have plenty of chairs/tables to sit a bit and watch, and the snack bar located right above is handy for those wanting to eat there. The price is reasonable, and the hours are accomodating. We also enjoyed a couple games in the game room. The one thing we found unlikable was not much room for dressing in the 'locker rooms' one tiny narro short bench to set tote bags/dry clothes on to be off the wet floor. It needs more open shelfs/counters spaces and benches for sitting etc. and hooks on walls to hang totes etc, but over all a wonderful experience for toddlers to adults in the water park! we also enjoyed the Sunday Brunch! A great way to escape the cold of winter in a fun/relaxing way!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked a room for a long weekend getaway and overall had a pretty nice experience. We took advantage of the indoor waterpark, sledding on the hill behind the resort and eating at the on-site restaurant.

Pros:
- We stayed in a room on the ground floor- parking lot view. It was nice having an outdoor entrance as well.
- The indoor waterpark is very suitable for younger children. The deepest pools are only 3 ft., it was nice to know that our children could swim safely anywhere in the indoor water park. The waterpark also has a snack bar with pizza, hotdogs, nachos, etc.
- We checked out sleds and went sledding down the hill behind the resort- fun! I read in another post that the staff had put together a fire in the outdoor firepit in the winter. There is an area for that behind the resort- that would have been a lot of fun since it was too cold outside to participate in any of outdoor hikes or other activities.
-You can check out board games and/or books if wanting to spend some time in your room.
-The lobby was lovely- open space with windows that viewed the lake. We saw an eagle in a tree near the lake from inside.
-Bedding was clean, bathroom was clean and overall fairly clean.
-Restaurant service was pretty good. We ate there for 5 meals, we had two very good waitresses and one average waiter. I think he was new though as he had charged us for wrong items. Restaurant food is average. Saturday and Sunday they offer a breakfast buffet. Saturday you can order off the menu as well, but on Sunday you can only have the buffet.

Cons:
-Our room!!! Next time we stay at the resort, we will either stay in one of the cabins or request a top floor room. You could literally hear everything in the hallway (waterpark entrance is on main floor) and the noise from the floor above was unreal!
- The rooms are nicely sized, but had cobwebs in corners and dust throughout- not to mention that my youngest son found a left over reeses peanut butter cup by the chair from the previous guests and was near eating it.
-If you are a coffee drinker, they only provide a single serve coffee pot in room and you have to pay $1.00 in the lobby for a cup of their coffee.
-It would have been nice to have a mini-refrigerator and microwave in the room.
-Lack of water pressure in shower and only 3 towels for 4 guests. (May have to do with conservation?)
-If staying M-F, waterpark doesn't open until 4 p.m. (Sat/Sun does open in morning)

Room Tip: Top floor or cabin!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaca-Fam-of-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We just got back from a Living Social get away special at Honey Creek. Beautiful room with a view. Fun at the indoor pool. Good meals in both restaurants. Bird watching and hiking on the lake. We even saw a half a dozen bald eagles! The staff was fun and helpful. This a wonderful value and very relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the lake. We were on the second floor away from the water park for a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is only 3 hours from Kansas City! It was great to get away with the family. We stayed at the resort, went swimming at the indoor water park, and enjoyed the restaurant. The water park is meant for smaller children, elementary and toddler age. But we didn't spend too much time there, so it was good for a few hours of playing. We had arrangements to go ice fishing with a local-what a great experience everyone should try! We also visited an Amish store nearby and got some great items. Wonderful weekend, we really enjoyed it! Can't wait to go back this summer and walk the trails, hiking, biking and the lake. The resort has tons of cabins for all family sizes. Really a nice find in a secluded area of Iowa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KStaterinMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Where to start. I stayed a saturday night with my mom and sister so we could attend the bridal forum the next morning. The outside of the hotel is beautiful and set the expectations high, but we were soon disappointed. Our reservation was made by the wedding coordinator, so it was obviously under my name. At check in, my mom offered her credit card and they failed to take her information which provided a little mix up and some hassle at check out. The rooms were nothing spectacular. The price for the night was decent, but during the summer the prices are OUTRAGEOUS. Being a group with no kids was extremely overwhelming. People will pack these rooms with a dozen kids and then all their neighbors suffer. We were on the first floor on the way to the water park, so it was extremely noisy, and even the people above us were noisy and rude. There were nasty splatters on the walls in the room, there were rips in the sheets and pillow cases, there was only shampoo offered in the bathroom and the door to outside was drafty and left the room cold. The restaurant in the hotel was the only logical option and was a disaster. We had reservations but still had to wait. We then waited close to half an hour at our table before we even saw our waitress. And the food was horrible when we finally got it. The salads were the only thing worth eating and the prices were a little high. 17 dollars for mac and cheese that tasted like nasty pasta in a cream sauce with chewy sundried tomatoes.

This place has so much potential, but someone needs to whip this place in shape!!!! Please!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingwillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Like other reviewers we found Honey Creek through Living Social. As my husband and I pulled up to the resort we were immediately impressed with everything the resort had to offer. The lake, golf, biking, trails...we were only disappointed that it was January and, unfortunately, most of those things were not an option for us. The property is beautiful. The rooms were well appointed, comfortable and clean. There was a fun kids activity the night we got there - a story by the fire with Smores. The waterpark was just okay but nice to have something for kids to do in the winter months. The resort is quite secluded which, at first, added to the charm.

That is until you try to tackle the issue of eating. If you're staying in a cabin I imagine it would be better as you would have kitchen space. Honey Creek only offers one place to eat, Rathbun Lakeside Grille. Our first experience there was in the bar and was great. Philip was a wonderful bartender and we enjoyed our app. Looking back I realize that the food was likely enjoyable as we were the only ones in the bar ordering. Once we went back for breakfast and dinner and tried to go for lunch things became different. Each time we went we had to wait close to an hour for our food, which, when it came, was dried out and over done from sitting under the heating lamps for too long. We tried to eat lunch one day but found that we couldn't do so until 2pm. Late for lunch as far as I'm concerned and frustrating as Lakeshore was our only option for food (the hotel rooms don't even offer a mini fridge or microwave). Most disappointing was our waitress at dinner our second night who rarely checked on us, didn't seem in the least concerned that we were waiting, with two toddlers for almost an hour for our food and then blamed the kitchen when we expressed our frustration. At breakfast one morning, after waiting 45 minutes for our food, we noticed a man next to us, dining alone, who finally had to cancel his order b/c it was taking so long. At least in this instance we did have a waitress who was attentive, kind and apologetic for our wait. In discussing this my husband felt like Lakeshore's attitude was "Why do we have to be good? Where else are these people going to go eat?" In our experience, this seemed to be true. It was a holiday weekend while we were there and maybe the staff wasn't ready for that. This is something that could make or break business for the entire resort as it's the only place to eat. My suggestion would be to stay in a cabin or bring a cooler with some food but DO NOT rely on Lakeshore as your only option for food.

Our experience with Lakeshore has us debating a return to Honey Creek. The resort seems have a lot to offer and maybe a cabin stay would be different but I defintiely don't think I'd book a room at the hotel again - and that's ONLY because of our dining experiences.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejw1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moravia
20.4 mi away
Country Cabins
Country Cabins
#1 of 3 in Chariton
32 reviews
9.8 mi away
Westbridge Inn & Suites
Westbridge Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Centerville
21 reviews
9.1 mi away
Super 8 Centerville
Super 8 Centerville
#3 of 3 in Centerville
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Indian Hills Inn
Indian Hills Inn
#1 of 1 in Albia
14 reviews
9.8 mi away
No photo provided
Junction Inn
#1 of 3 in Centerville
2 reviews
9.6 mi away
One of a Kind
One of a Kind
#2 of 2 in Centerville
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Creek Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Creek Resort State Park

Address: 12633, Moravia, IA 52571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Moravia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Moravia
Price Range: $127 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honey Creek Resort State Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Honey Creek Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Creek Resort State Park Hotel Moravia
Honey Creek Resort State Park Iowa/Moravia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing