We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picturesque”

Desoto National Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Love going thru the Museum there and also to take photos. Desoto was closed for awhile when we had the flood, but have gone since and it was in the stages of regenerating itself. You could see where the water lines were on the trees and so forth.

Helpful?
1 Thank FaithIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    16
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
300 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Always a Great stop!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were recently returning to Sioux City with our Granddaughter & stopped here for a visit & to introduce her to the refuge! It was great to see her checking everything out. She was 19 months old & enjoyed going up & down the stairs & checking a lot of things out. There weren't very many people there that day, but the staff member on duty was very friendly & informative. We were curious about the road being closed into the rest of the refuge & he explained the problem. We always enjoy stopping here & enjoyed sharing it with our next generation!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great to go during migration of geese”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Beautiful park, knowledgeable staff, friendly and courteous. The amount of Waterfowl is amazing during fall early winter. watching the eagles hunt is a plus. Must visit park!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bmoussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Refuge/Great family memories”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My grandparents brought our family here back in the 80's when I was younger. I was into nature at the time and the trails were beautiful. The river oberservatory was a neat idea. When I was there, they had displays of some riverboats that had run on the river. Very educational.

Helpful?
1 Thank Krackatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAHA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Connect with Nature and History”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

A lovely Day Trip with the wife to DeSoto National Wildlife Refuge, ($3 day-pass) which serves as a seasonal resting area for snow geese and mallards, and has also become an important wintering area for up to 120 bald eagles. Warblers, gulls, shorebirds, and other species.
We first visited the DeSoto Visitor Center; which provides an introduction to the refuge, exhibits the Bertrand Collection, (The 1968 excavation of the steamboat Bertrand, which sank in 1865, adds a major historical emphasis to the refuge program) and contains interpretive displays/dioramas on the historical development of the Missouri River Basin, the ecological impacts of that development, and the natural history of the area.
Next we took a leisurely drive completely around the Refuge, half on pavement and half on graveled roads (which are closed during the Winter), and thanks to the well marked road-signs, we were able to truly enjoy the natural beauty and historical sites in a very comfortable manner.
There is fishing by permit, and we saw many folks and families out enjoying the activity! We would recommend this to the entire family!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BRENT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desoto National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Desoto National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing