We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the diner! Honest staff!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Tree Inn Missouri Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Tree Inn Missouri Valley
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Missouri Valley
Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love the diner! Honest staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Oak Tree Inn on our 1st night out on a trip to Yellowstone. We stayed here before, and chose it because we liked the hotel, and we loved Penny's Diner! The hotel is out in the middle of corn fields and is very quiet! The beds are very comfortable, linen nice/clean. We slept very well! The rooms are a nice size, and clean. There is a great exercise room; didn't use the pool.
They give you coupons for $7.75 off per person for a meal..you can use it for supper or for breakfast at the diner...so basically you get a free meal each. Love the quaint silver 50s diner!
Now about the staff.....I can't praise housekeeping's honesty enough!! We left our iPad in the room charging....had it slightly behind the TV to reach the outlet, and just missed picking it up when we packed to leave! I frantically called the hotel that night, but was told to call back in the AM when housekeeping was in; When I called the next AM, I found the housekeeper had locked it in the safe for us! Whew...what a relief!!! The manager then shipped it - free of charge- to my parents address for us...since we wouldn't be home for another 2 wks! We seriously thought it was gone....sure is great to know there are still honest people in the world! We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjmacnoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    28
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
23
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our three nights here were good. The bed was very comfortable and room was clean. It is a standard room with minimal furnishings and not much for amenities. Very limited number of clothes hangers. But we did not ask for more and they may have provided more if we asked. The breakfast as all have mentioned is a big plus. The passing trains and associated whistles can be annoying. We kept the aircon fan running to minimize this annoyance. Clean and comfortable is a bottom line hard to beat and this place offered that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstercl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We wanted to travel the Loess Hills scenic drive, so this hotel was a good choice. The room was very basic, no little extras (shampoo, notepads, etc). Check-in was at the neighboring Penney's retro-style dinner, which also provided good local food and a voucher for free breakfast. Seemed expensive for what we got, but maybe that's because there isn't much else around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madinpursuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

There are some really nice aspects to this place. It's clean, quiet, and roomy. One really nice feature is that guests receive a complimentary breakfast at a diner next door to the motel, and the food was great! An unusual feature is that guest registration is located in the diner. There is no office in the motel itself. My only suggestions for improving the quality of services are these minor grievances: there was no complimentary shampoo, no hair dryer, or in-room coffee maker. One can usually rely on finding these conveniences, even in modestly-priced motels. The price was reasonable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

From the reservation process, to checking in, eating at Penny's Diner, and checking out - first class organization. I would stay there again. Very quiet, comfortable rooms, very clean. Visitors should know that there isn't a pool and that the diner is actually located across parking lot, very close though. Excellent food and value.

Room Tip: No pool or activities for kids, other than cool diner, located next door across parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_OTI, General Manager at Oak Tree Inn Missouri Valley, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Jim B.,

Thank you for the comments! We are trying hard to provide a positive experience for all our hotel and diner guests. We appreciate you taking time to write a review. We hope to have you stay with us again. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was my first time staying in an Oak Tree Inn. Without being able to compare it to other Oak Tree Inns, I can compare it to other brand name chain motels. This was nice, but different.

This motel is convenient to I-29 and US-30 (located on US-30 just east of the I-29 interchange). Upon arriving at the motel, you need to check-in at the dinner located next to the motel (same owners). That was kind of odd, but it worked. The room was clean and nice, decorated with fine materials, and looked like most upscale motels (like Holiday Inn Express). When they say "black out curtains", they mean it. If you don't keep your eye on the clock or set the alarm, it can be easy to sleep until noon. The room is 100% dark! The motel is quiet (day & night) at least during my stay. I did have a bathroom issue during my one night stay. The toilet had a flushing problem, but there was a janitor on site that fixed the problem. Later the bathroom light kept getting dimmer and dimmer. By the time we checked out, it was pretty much completely off (needed to keep the door open for light to get dressed). Since we were checking out in the morning, we didn't fool around making an issue of it.

The motel offers free breakfast in the diner. Which is a big step up form most hotels. You are offered a fine choice of "Free" items from the menu, some other choices are extra $ (but the prices are very good). I was able to get a nice, full complete breakfast for free, just include a tip for the waitress! I would stay here again, and recommend the motel to others. I'm sure my bathroom problem was isolated, as the motel was just about sold out, and all the guests that I saw seemed to like the motel as well. Other food choices within walking distance include Subway, Burger King, and Arby's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RailfanMotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My sister and I were passing through town while on a cross country drive. The hotel was just what we needed: clean, quiet and great price. Nothing fancy, but served our purpose. The hotel is also right off of the highway and near a gas station, so for fellow travelers - this is ideal. The room came with a free breakfast but we didn't partake as we wanted to hit the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgriffing87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Missouri Valley
1.7 mi away
Hillside Cottages
Hillside Cottages
#3 of 4 in Missouri Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
18.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cherry Hills
18.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Omaha Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Super 8 Omaha Eppley Airport/Carter Lake
12.2 mi away
No photo provided
Rodeway Inn
#2 of 2 in Blair
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
21.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn Missouri Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn Missouri Valley

Property: Oak Tree Inn Missouri Valley
Address: 128 Willow Rd, I-29 at Highway 30, Missouri Valley, IA 51555-1311
Location: United States > Iowa > Missouri Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Missouri Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oak Tree Inn Missouri Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Oak Tree Inn Missouri Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing