We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and home-like”
Review of Rose's Place B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middle Amana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose's Place B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Middle Amana B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were the only guests when we stayed overnight at Rose's B&B in the Middle Amana. The proprietors, Betty and Jerry along with their son were all very welcoming. The room was large with an accompanying eating area. The B&B is a historic building used for Sunday School when the Amana religious order was a communal society. The building was immaculate and our room had some antiques along with other homey-type furniture. Betty had made arrangements for guests to eat at German restaurant in Amada, but since we were short on time, we bought a pastry at a bakery around the corner ( which I would not recommend). The price was very reasonable given the accomodations. Overall, we thououghly enjoyed our visit and would come back if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RATS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have been staying at Rose's Bed and Breakfast for the past 15 years. It is a lovely place to stay and Betty is one special lady. Her main goal seems to be to make her customers happy and comfortable.The remodel after a fire caused by lightening last summer is impressive. Her suites are spacious, immaculate, and so comfortable. The suites contain refrigerator, coffee, microwave and stove. What more could you ask? We highly recommend you stay at this location. Breakfast is provided by Betty at a local restaurant.You have the option of breakfast or a reduced price that does not include breakfast. We chose the no breakfast option so cannot accurately rate the breakfast, however the Ronnenberg Restaurant has a 4-5 star rating. We will return again.

Room Tip: Room #2 is a suite with two bedrooms, two baths, a full kitchen and a large sitting area with TV. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenmarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

There are not all that many choices in the Amana Iowa area so I was careful to check out web sites and make phone calls with questions. When we found the place the problems began.
#1. Rose's Bed and Breakfast is not a Bed and Breakfast: it is Bed, no breakfast. You must go elsewhere to eat. The lady who owns Rose's (Betty) blames the city for a law which requires that to be a B&B the proprietor must live in the B&B, however it is not the city's fault the owner chose to live elsewhere.
#2 While all Rose's Bed (no breakfast) advertising mentions TV, the television may not be in your room and may be in a communal area. Since some rooms do not have a private bath, you might find yourself sitting in the communal area watching TV as people in their underwear parade by on their way to the communal bathroom.
#3 We made sure that we had a private bathroom, but it wasn't all that private in that the door was a thin plastic folding door that did not latch properly, if at all. Since the bedroom was not that big and the bathroom door was thin plastic, you and your spouse get to listen to everything... now ain't that romantic....?
#4 After the first night I looked for somewhere else to stay, but there weren't that many places to start with and none had anything for us, so we left a day early.
---The owner(s) seemed to be sweet people who are over their heads... but it may be that I am naïve in that there can be no question their ads/website are disingenuous.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McBible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were the only guests on a Monday night, and enjoyed the clean, comfortable, and spacious accomodations. It was like being at home, with two lounge chairs, a big comfortable bed, and a guest kitchen adjacent to our room. If you are lucky, you may score a piece of Betty's homemade pie as part of a wonderful full breakfast. Down the road from Amana with two great restaraunts, The Ox Yoke and the Ronnenberg. Current owners are retiring and selling the B&B but hope things don't change.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I wanted to visit Amana Colonies so I went on the Amana Colonies website and pulled up different hotels and B & B's. When I looked at Rose's B & B in Middle Amana Iowa the price was good and the pictures were really nice. We had never stayed at a B & B before and thought we would try it. We actually stayed in July of 2010 at Rose's and it was an excellent choice. The room was very clean, the bed was wonderful, had a private bath, tv and air. There was a special kitchen area for guest's if you had your own food. The rest of the house was very clean and the owners were very friendly. They served a good hot breakfast with several dishes to choose from along with several choices of beverages (this was included in the stay). The town is small and quite and was nice to walk around. It is not to far from Amana and if you like to bike ride or walk there is a nice path you can take to Amana. If we ever go to the colonies again we will be sure to stay at Rose's.

Room Tip: There are several room options, I looked at the pictures to my liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImGrandmato2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Rose's is delightful. Clean, quiet, relaxing. Beautiful gardens. The hosts are incredible and the breakfast was AMAZING!!! (Be sure to pick up the cookbook!) Middle Amana is much quieter than Main Amana and wonderful for taking walks or just hanging out in the garden. We plan to go back with our daughters sometime soon. People who were there have been there several times. It really says something about a place when people keep coming back. And besides all this, the rates are incredibly reasonable. Why stay in a motel when a gem like this is available? Can't say enough good things about it.

Room Tip: Reserve early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieLiz2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

A friend and I wanted to have a relaxing stay in the Amana Colonies. Rose's Place was wonderful. Immaculate B&B. Great breakfast, rolls, fruit cup, scrambled eggs/ham, French toast and coffee, served family style. 4 bedrooms, with quilted spreads, 4-poster beds, each bedroom had a private bath. Upstairs was a kitchen with, microwave, refrigerator, table, etc. Sunny and welcoming. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Freeport_IlTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose's Place B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose's Place B&B

Address: 1007 26th Ave, PO Box 90, Middle Amana, IA 52307-7710
Location: United States > Iowa > Middle Amana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Middle Amana
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rose's Place B&B Middle Amana, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing