We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be called "Almost Mexican"”

Latinos MexicanRestaurant
Ranked #7 of 10 Restaurants in McGregor
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Located in the Alexander Hotel. Mexican and Peruvian dishes
Restaurant details
Description: Located in the Alexander Hotel. Mexican and Peruvian dishes
wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Should be called "Almost Mexican"”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The only thing Mexican about this place was the flag hanging on the wall. Drink coasters on the table looked to have been used most of the summer. And by no means is this a fast food joint. After waiting for almost 45 minutes for our order, what a disappointment. The 4 of us each had a different dish. And out of 4, none was very good at all. Very bland, tasteless, and very greasy. And our waitress seemed intent on getting in on our table conversation. Maybe she should have gone back to help the cook. But, we were the only people in the place. So, if you want good Mexican food, go elsewhere. If want anything good, go elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tansandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    12
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baraboo
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Food I got the KING burrito”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We ate as a group and we didn't talk much it was that good. Margarita's yummy, POCCO great waiter, jsut good people and great food

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Dirty”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

6/29 or 6/30/12 - My husband and I were instantly seated upon entering. The waiter had just finished "cleaning" the table. The cardboard drink coasters had drips and stains from prior customers. The plastic coated menu was grimy with dried food as were the salt and pepper shakers. The place wasn't terribly busy. My husband and I laughed nervously at each other as we commented on the conditions. We had both looked forward to eating at this restaurant but finally admitted to each other we were afraid to eat the food. If what we see immediately upon entering is this dirty, what is the kitchen like? We paid for our drinks and went to the place around the corner. So sorry, I have no comment at all about the food. The staff were friendly and attentive. We chickened out. I have never done that before.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jenk54653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A poor excuse for Mexican food”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Bland and tasteless, this resembled Mexican food only visually. The restaurant is located in a hotel, which may begin to explain its poor quality--the pleasant Latino staff are not even trying when it comes to food preparation, perhaps the prominent bar is the main attraction here. Have eaten in many Mexican-American restaurants, this is among the worst.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meyshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Latinos MexicanRestaurant also viewed

 

Been to Latinos MexicanRestaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing