We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful scenery and lovely place to walk!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pikes Peak State Park

Pikes Peak State Park
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in McGregor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
eastman, wi
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and lovely place to walk!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Beautiful overlooks and great walking trails! Love this park!! I love the mounds, the playground is great, and a fun place to picnic!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank elisabeth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    45
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Pike's Peak State Park had been described to me as "One of the most beautiful places in Iowa." A friend told me that fall was an especially good time to go, and after visiting this past weekend I can attest to this. Breath taking views were unlike any Mississippi river overlook I have been visited. The park also had a snack stand, fantastic picnic area, numerous trails for hiking, native burial mounds, camping, and even a small water fall.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Josiah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This park is awesome. They have some gorgeous views of the Wisconsin River and the Mississippi Rivers where they meet. Great photo opportunities. There is also camping at this park. If your in the McGregor Iowa area it's a must see to go to Pikes Peak State Park.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank babica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Fall Must-Do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This place is gorgeous. I would take a camera and take shots of your kids for Christmas cards. We've been there when it's hot or cold and it's beautiful every time. Wear comfy shoes and hit every trail. Amazing! You must check it out!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JD Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids
Level Contributor
321 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“What a place to hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This place is great. It has over 970 acres of land to use. Over 75 campsites and even a concession stand selling postcards to food. This is the FIRST Pikes' Peak, by the way. The second is in another state. A plaque on the scenic overlook tells all. This overlook shows where the Mississippi and Wisconsin rivers converge. In the fall the colors are spectacular!
Plenty of hiking here. Bald eagles can be seen swooping nearby and deer and wild turkey come right out of the woods. There is even an effigy mound here. There is an awesome boardwalk that one can walk to a crows nest and view the river and Prairie du Chein, WI.
Bridal Falls and other natural attractions within the park can't be beat regardless of season.
Well worth the drive from nearby McGregor, IA.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pikes Peak State Park also viewed

 

Been to Pikes Peak State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing