We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views lots to do here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pikes Peak State Park

Pikes Peak State Park
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in McGregor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
172 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great views lots to do here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This state park is located along the Mississippi River and affords gorgeous overlooks. There were several boardwalk style hiking trails to a variety of features like Bridal veil Falls ( just a little trickle in the fall), Indian mounds. Camping and picnicking sites are available.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gwenbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    45
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
176 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great views, nice trails, nice campground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful expansive views high atop a bluff overlooking the confluence of the Mississippi and Wisconsin Rivers. Well maintained hiking trails. Bridal falls is a seasonal water fall - keep that in mind. Many effigy mounds in park (near trails). Campground is clean, restrooms are very nice, campgrounds included picnic table and fire ring...nice sized spots, mostly shaded.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Iluv2travel059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, IA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This park has some beautiful river views and some nice hikes. Worth stopping! We took a side trail and ended up climbing down some rocks and overlooking the river. They've got a great viewing platform. My niece LOVED it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
220 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“The very best view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

It is a great park. Lots of stairs if you want to see the whole thing but the main view is easily accessible. We did the trail to the small trickle of a waterfall. The drought has definitely dried that up. But it was still pretty back there with the fall leaves. There is no center to explain the area but there is a small snack bar.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2gothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best view around (and the staff is amazing)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a great time we all had at Pikes Peak State Park in McGregor,IA. The overlook was amazing, the view was amazing... stopped at the concession stand and bought a fleece and a hot... both were priced great. Oh, I am being told that we also bought a coffee mug (Matt's Spot).. then we went out to find this "Matt's Spot" and that is a beautiful spot too... LOVED THE PARK and the STAFF...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pikes Peak State Park also viewed

 

Been to Pikes Peak State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing