We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ambalama Leisure Lounge
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great value for money. I had one night stay with them. Also they offering complimentary bed tea in the morning. Every staff members are always smiling and helpful. Front office Udayanga and Ruvini Always take care about us. Foods we had with the room service and that also delicious. Superb destination. But If you Going non AC you will face mosquito problem. But they offering mosquito coils also. Great Eco friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Best Ones are Cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 460kismet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 35 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Me and my 3 friends enjoyed our stay at the Ambalama Leisure Lounge. We went there for a weekendtrip. The rooms are good value for the money. Also, the environment is very nice! For us it was great to escape the busy streets of Colombo. There is a lot of green around the bungalows and is pretty quiet. I can definitely recommend this place to other travellers :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjsnijders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited Ambalama towards the end of our trip in Sri Lanka, and I think that was the perfect time to experience the place. We stayed in the Carpenter’s cottage, which was kind of isolated and quiet, and it set a great relaxed mood for the end of our vacation. Don’t go in with too many expectations, as it is not a five-star resort, but the environment is pretty great, so you will enjoy it

Room Tip: It is not a five-star resort, but the environment is pretty great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here on the way back to Colombo from Sinharaja and Adams Peak. We were looking forward to staying in a bungalow but they had none when we got there so we stayed in a room instead. The room was reasonably comfortable and clean, but not well decorated at all. Lighting was terrible and the A/C made a lot of noise. There was a party downstairs that went on until midnight. Breakfast was local fare only.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have visited this place several times hence its quit closer to me..
recommended anyone to stop for a Buffet breakfast, lunch or dinner which is worth for the price with variations.
Even for a evening beer, its great..
rooms are much nice with a different setup and gives you a familiar appearance to Amaya lake..but do not expect that much. they tried to give same kind of setup.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

It was a quick visit to Ambalama, one of eco-friendly hotel on the way to Avissawella. The thing that I liked most is the natural environment and the greenly surrounding. Welcoming staff and good food too! Ideal for spent a day trips.

Room Tip: Every single room is detached and have its own staircase and amenities. The concept of the rooms are...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Kalaikavi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiyambarawatta M, Owner at Ambalama Leisure Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for the review. We will see your comments are in positive way and attend. Improve as suggested. Pl. visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Well , you can stop over to have some food while you are on the way to May be rathnapura or somewhere down the road.
the food is just ok but its ok for the value . the service is ok and could be improved.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AJ_matrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiyambarawatta M, Manager at Ambalama Leisure Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for the review. Food quality & service will be improved. Request to visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avissawella
3.7 mi away
Kithul Kanda
Kithul Kanda
#2 of 3 in Padukka
122 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Sanctuary Lodge
The Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 5 in Kaduwela
21 reviews
12.4 mi away
Leaf Leisure
Leaf Leisure
#1 of 7 in Avissawella
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Seethawaka Regency
Seethawaka Regency
#2 of 7 in Avissawella
20 reviews
21.3 mi away
Kumbuk Sevena Adventure Camp
8.5 mi away
Hotel Famous
Hotel Famous
#3 of 7 in Avissawella
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambalama Leisure Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambalama Leisure Lounge

Address: Ihala Hanwella, Avissawella 10700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Avissawella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Avissawella
Price Range: $24 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in different stages, Ambalama Leisure Lounge at Ihala Hanwella, Hanwella on the Highlevel Road, began as an Eco-friendly boutique hotel with 14 cottages in January 2000. The hotel cum rest pavilion is designed to provide the much needed break to weary traveler from a long and arduous journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ambalama Leisure Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing